Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 9 November 2017
I loved watching darling buds of may and enjoyed this book enormously. beautifully written story and great that it contains so many of the buds books in one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 October 2017
Lovely book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
Brilliant.. makes you feel good book..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2017
slight crease on the cover but otherwise in good condition, enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2017
Perfick
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2017
I tend to read books before I watch a film or a TV series based on a book, but I enjoyed the TV series a lot and was interested to see and compare as invariably I have found books so much better than the films or TV series, George Gently excepted.

I was pretty surprised how close the TV series was to the book and how well the casting director must have done to fill the roles

So an enjoyable book and an enjoyable film if you like an easy reading/watching bit of nostalgia about country life and a family of real characters (in a fictional sense) in southern england in the 50's. It's not really any genre, not action, not adventure, not really romance to any degree, ot a who dunnit, just an enjoyable tale
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
Read this if you want to cheer yourself up! The disgustingly opulent Pop and his brood shout, eat, play and wangle their way through life without a care in the world. This is how we'd all like to live our lives - eating ice-cream whilst riding around in the back of a battered truck and stopping off at a farm for some fruit picking before a spot of naughty tax evasion by way of seduction and yet more food. If you like iced-buns with ketchup, you'll love this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2017
Nice to have all the books in one volume. One of the few books that is not spoiled by the TV production, in a way they complement eachother. Mind you, the books are still much better, less sentimental and much racier.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
From start to finish, a really good relaxing read. Well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2010
I've long been a fan of the TV series and had always wanted to read the original stories by H E Bates - well I wasn't disappointed, the stories are absolutely brilliant and bring to mind a much simpler and friendlier view of England, I am intrigued as to where his inspiration came from and can't help thinking he must have known someone similar to Pop & his family! These stories are addictive and I couldn't put the book down and when I finished it I was hoping that there may have been more sadly not! What I can say is that anyone who hasn't read these stories is in for a treat and I would recommend the book to anyone who has a hankering for a lost time!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse