Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 February 2011
I had an urge to learn about England in the 18th Century and this told me much about it. Not necessarily the big events we may have already heard of, but the background social/political changes that contributed to the big changes and led to the industrial revolution of the 19th Century and Britain's dominance of the world...
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
It is a great pity that Roy Porter has not brought his obvious talents to 19th and 20th century English History. This book is a well written broad brush account of its subject. Easily absorbed and authoritative, including many references that enlighten and give meaning to all that followed in 19th century England.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
Looking through it it seems really informative, again it will help me when I need it to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
Well written in an easy style, most informative especially as i'm interested in the Social, Political and Economic History of 18th, 19th and 20th century and this book appears to give a good insight into the18th century. Shall be looking for other volumes to compliment it. Would recommend it anybody with similar tastes
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
Fascinating, full of information set out in a way that makes it easy to access.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
I am writing a novel set in the late 18th century and bought this book as a starting point for my research. Compared with other, more "academic" texts on the period, I found it a quick, accessible read that did an excellent job of bringing Georgian England - warts and all - to life. Nine chapters cover the social hierarchy; the living conditions of the rich, the poor and the middling man (and woman); politics and the judicial system; religion and irreligion; the birth of our present-day materialistic society; the beginning of the industrial revolution; and more. Detailed but not overwhelming, with an extensive further reading list and an appendix of statistical tables, I would recommend English Society in the Eighteenth Century to anyone needing a broad introduction to the Hanoverian era.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2016
Excellent product at an excellent price with an excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
Looks good from what I have read needed for university module.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2017
Item as described and arrived in a timely manner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
Although jam-packed with details and contemporary quotations, far from being a dry academic work, Roy Porter's book brings the sights, sounds and (almost!) smells of the 18th Century to life.

The book's themes (which include Contrasts, The Social Order, Power, Politics and The Law) cover every aspect of social life, from the aristocracy to the poor, leaving the reader with a very vivid picture of English life.

Porter clearly knows his onions and puts his knowledge into print in an easy to read, frequently humourous, and always memorable fashion, leaving the reader both educated and entertained.

If there is just one book on this time period that you read, then this one needs very serious consideration.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse