Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2015
Penguin History of the Church 3:"The Reformation" is divided into three parts :1. The Protest,about the reformation, 2. The Counter-Reformation , 3. Reformation and the Life of the Church. The examination of the Reformation is very clear. - Anyway a biography about Martin Luther is also very valuable to reed,when you want to know something about the .Reformation , for instance "Here I stand. A Life of Martin Luther".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
perfect thanks. Quick dispatch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2014
Excellent service and prompt delivery, this book is essential reading for any Reformation student up to third level (undergraduate). I recommend buying it with Keith Randell's series on the Reformation and Reardon for comparative purposes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2017
Great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
If a reader is remotely interested in history this is a great read. On completion of reading this book I will have read this book twice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
A good introduction to the Reformation and an easy read. I have found it a valuable introduction to the course I am doing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hi fellow readers of Theology,

This book was rapidly dispatched and was in an excellent condition. I have studied Church History at Degree/Postgrad level. This book provides an excellent academic review-remaining understandable and not boogged down with copious notes.
I fidnd the author to be truly reflective of the various historical/theological factions of the RC and Free Church traditions on the Reformation, and having been both a CARMELITE Friar and now Minister in the Non-cnformist tradition , I freel able to make this comment.

bedith/blessings, Chris.
The Penguin History of the Church: The Reformation: Reformation v. 3 (Hist of the Church)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
I'm sure the book, just received, will be a fascinating read - Owen Chadwick has enthralled me before.

If I can bear to . . .

But dear me, Penguin used to be a reputable publisher. Why such a hideous production? The cover is still fine, but the smudgy, photocopied (?) text is going to be quite an endurance test! Why on earth, in these technological days, such a horrendous quality of reproduction? Can one imagine such an insult, in days when books were handled before being bought?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
This book is part of a series of the history of the Church and covers all the important events of the Reformation. The book has been criticised for its lofty tone and for the amount of background knowledge the reader needs to have to understand; certainly, a knowledge of ecclesiastical terms and a mental map of the geography of Europe in the 16th Century would help. But the book will reward dedication. Chadwick outlines the early developments and the 'cry' for reform in the face of the absurdities, scholasticism and abuses of the Church at that time. He also discusses the personality and character of the major actors, putting flesh on Luther (and bone on the austere Calvin). The dark events of England are treated particularly well, not a good time for the monastaries of course, and the Catholic 'counter-reformation' and the radical 'anabaptists' receive good treatment. The Reformation will never be an 'easy' subject to study and technical language will always be inevitable. With this in mind, Chadwick's history is a great achievement and I certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
A very readable book summarising an extremely complex period of Church and State history in less than 450 pages (which is something of a miracle given the upheavals of the time) and yet it manages to include some stunning details and pithy quotes. Highly recommended for people who need a good overview of the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)