Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2017
Well worth the effort
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
A brand new copy in a excellent condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2007
I have always been interested in the theoretical side of history and this remains one of the best books to start with. It has been a few years since I was at University, but this used to be a set text for first year undergraduates, in order to give them some understanding of the 'history of history'. Carr's text is highly readable and his analogies very useful - ie. thinking of historians as merely individuals in a very long, winding procession of people through a mountainous valley - looking back at events going on further back in the queue, their views differing according to whereabouts in the procession he or she was at the time. Still a great starting point for an often complex subject.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
At university, I had a compulsory module on Historical theory and I didn't do very well in that course (In fact, I failed it miserably). I put this down to the fact I just didn't understand it.
Now, after preparing for my PGCE year, I am reading this book and it is giving me a whole different idea into historical theory - I now fully understand certain aspects of historical theory and although it may have words you have to look up (quite archaic use of some words), it is so easy to read and to understand.

I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to further enhance their knowledge of historical theory.
I also found the first chapter very interesting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2000
Anyone interested in the (currently much disputed) philosophical issues surrounding the study of history should read this one. Carr doesn't sit on the fence - instead makes his position clear and with a refreshingly simple and easy (though nontheless articulate) use of language which is sadly missing from other work in this area of discussion.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
Excellent style and good argumentation, Carr provides a delightful and easy read. Although time (history) has been quite rude to some of his arguments and views in the past 40 years most of his philosophy still holds true. Recommended for anyone interested in the title question.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2003
There are many definitions of what History is, and what it means for different sections of society at different times. E.H. Carr's primary argument is that the interpretation of history from certain historians is dependent upon their position in society, and indeed are formulated by society's view of the period. One historian writing in the 1950's may have a totally different interpretation of events that, say, a present day historical writer.
This book is a fascinating account of historical arguments through time, and is really useful if, like me, you are studying for a History degree at University!!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
In the past, ive read Arthur Marwicks Nature of History and a few books of John Tosh (all that seem to be a little critical of Carr). However reading this book, a basic introduction to history, I feel its a brilliant book and it does give a different viewpoint of history and its development. Worth a read if your studying historiography
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
E. H. Carr wrote a really eye-opening guide to finding your way around the philosophy of history. I think many of his arguments are flawed, but it doesn't matter - I've read few books that are so good at provoking my own streams of thought, which is surely the point of such a work. Easy to read and worthwhile.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2001
Very intuitive and inspiring. Carr manages to raise questions of many a historian, and concludes by providing his own 'philosophical' slant on the answers. Worth reading if one wishes to broaden their understanding.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)