Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
46
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2017
The twist comes late, but not after we've delved into the murky world that Phillip Marlowe has to work in. Somehow always retaining an elegance and style both in character and writing, Chandler spins a tale that keeps you guessing to the end
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Well written, the dialogue, the quips, the back handed comments, I always thought the films were scripted that way, but no, Chandler wrote them that way. I really enjoyed this book. I know that Bogart didn't play the part in this film (Elliot Gould did it) but I read it like Bogart. Brilliant!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Fantastic book which has you hooked from the first chapter. Philip Marlowe is the epitome of the American private investigator and the dialogue is a joy to behold. Fast moving plot with several unexpected twists. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
The book arrived on time, but the front cover has a big crease across the middle, which was a bit disappointing. The book is wonderful, full of superb metaphors and rich descriptions.It's leisurely and ambling rather than a fast pace thriller, and more of a social commentary than a "who dunnit". And if you ever saw Robert Mitchum or Humphry Bogart as philip Marlow, you can't help but hear their voice telling the story as you read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
A wonderful book.. Chandler is brilliant. I'd love to go back to the forties in Laurel Canyon simply to talk to the guy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2016
A good read. Better that The Little Sister.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
A good old fashioned detective story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
this is brilliant
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2016
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Twists throughout clever finish
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse