Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2017
This story is quintessential Highsmith. A man kills his wife for her infidelity. Walter trapped and belittled in his marriage seeks divorce from his nagging wife....perhaps he could murder her. The novel explores the subverted connection between two men who unwittingly become each other's nemesis. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Slightly lesser known Highsmith, but displays all her skills in detailing the gradual inevitability of disaster. Terrificly entertaining exposure of small town life. A deserved classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
This os ok to pass time but I wouldn't recommend it. Not boring but not that good. I wouldn't bother buying it, if I had the choice again
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
to me...this started so well.....up to a pivotal point in the plot......but then i felt it petered out...Ive read" Mermaids on a golf course" by Highsmith.. ..and those short stories did more with less.....to me this should have been a short....it feels padded out.....if i could have a refund and choose another Highsmith I would.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2005
One man kills his wife, the second man obssesses over this story then his wife dies in similar circumstances. One guilty and one innocent, partners in crime nevertheless. Each man is maltreated in the same way and Highsmith has once again interlocked 2 men in a enthralling tale of murder, suspense, and blame. As usual in Highsmith novels there is no happy righting of wrongs and, bery like Strangers on a Train, one mad man exudes power and control over the 'innocent' more vulnerable character. Oddly though the people most revolting in this web-like tale is the policeman, Corby, and Walter's acidic. pathetic, detestable wife, Clara. There must have been many a suspect for her murder. Great stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
Gripping but ,unconvincing ending spoils a well crafted yarn.Maybe they all get what they deserve..She is great writer so good at creating tension .Not as good as Strangers on a train or the Ripley series but well worth a read.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2016
I found reading this book extremely hard-going. I had to force myself to keep reading and not to jump to the end pages so I could put it away. A few prime irritations: the main character Walter was certainly a complete blunderer, and, as someone else said, for a lawyer he coped very inefficiently with the policeman Corby. On the other hand, the murderer Kimmel was a complete wimp in Corby's presence. However, what puzzled me most was why the author named the wife Clara and the housekeeper Claudia? - both beginning with Cla - I couldn't remember which woman was which in the first few chapters; why did she do it?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2016
Couldn't put this down! High smith brilliantly charts an ordinary man's descent into mental hell. Few writers capture the experience of guilt better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
The characters are amazing. They draw you into the story such that I could not put it down. Loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2016
I was absolutely glued to this book! Patricia Highsmith is the master of forboding suspense!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse