Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 1998
I read this book for an economic anthropology class. I thought it gave an excellent anthropological perspective on how sugar changed history. Mintz makes some striking points on the influence of slavery on the development of capitalism, as well as drawing a parallel between the sugar plantations in the Carribean and the capitalist, industrial factories that developed shortly after. The book is packed with historical information, overall a really informative read.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2001
Great book. The negative reviews actually support its underlying thesis, which is in part to show that we dont just take something for granted naturally, but that to be able to do so is the result of a process. The sum total of such processes help to create social, cultural and psychological identity. Mintz shows how that process works in terms of sugar and in the process demonstrates the relevance of history and anthropology. Again, Great Book!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 1999
I disagree with the poor reviews of this book. I also read it for an economic anthropology class. It was excellent. Mintz points out some mind-boggling transitions in history, and illuminates time and time again the relationship between laborer and owner of capital.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
With an exhilarating narrative sweep, 'Sweetness and Power' situates sugar at the emergence of modern consumer society - showing how its production institutionalised slavery and set the template for the industrial age, while its trade broke the links between calories and local food production and ushered in the modern era of global consumerism.

The scope of Mintz's research is remarkable, but it's his insights into how an everyday commodity can reveal the deep workings of history that makes this book such a classic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Although now a historic piece, this book is a significant contribution to the history of food in both anthropology and social history. The American perspective does mean that certain aspects of British usage of foods, such as sweetened condensed milk, is lacking in detail. Recommend for anyone looking to read about very significant foodstuff which shows how the interdisciplinary approach is essential in tackling food in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
I bought this for a project on sugar for my university history course. It gives a really good overview of the history of sugar but it does have a lot of ground to cover so it isn't an in depth study. Nevertheless I would recommend it as a good starting place for anyone who wants to understand the impact of sugar on both our history and our health.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
An extremely interesting study on an important factor of economic history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2016
Good interesting read and helpful for essay writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2016
Everything as it should be, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)