Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 May 2014
This is an entertaining account of an 1983 expedition into the centre of Borneo by river and overland. Full of little stories about the Iban people who supported the expedition and about the cameraderie between the author and his travelling companion, this is a humorous and charming read.

The changing way of life of the people of the Borneo interior is made clear - and given that 30 years have elapsed since this book was written presumably much more has changed subsequently.

No Oran-utangs were seen on the trip, and the author's search for the Borneo Rhinocerous was not really successful. The journey itself makes this well worth reading though- especially if you are not fazed by leeches...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Absolutely hilarious !! also very informative and,who knows,the last narrative of a soon to be lost world...loved the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2017
In this day and age quite an adventure story with some stunning bird watching for good measure. No idea how or why they ended up there
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2003
I'm moved to write my first review for Amazon by this classic of the travel genre. It moves effortlessly from humour to history, from adventure to scientific account. Like all the the best travel books, it takes you there without having to go to the expense of airline tickets. I got a real flavour of Borneo, borne out by a trip there which would have been all the poorer had I not read this book.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2001
...This is a real journey into a real country. How can you complain that he gives you descriptions of the birds and flora of the country he's travelling through? Don't you want to know what the place is like? You leave the book feeling you have experienced the place - and the ending is great, showing the contrast between the young and the old, and how the old tribal ways, with their customs and skills, are going to die out very soon as the young move away from the jungle. This, like his masterpiece Congo Journey, uses exaggeration and humour to show the contast between the travellers and the natives of the country they are in. So his books teach as you laugh. And make you think asbout the nature of the world, and the issues facing people who's lives are changing impossibly fast. Heartbreaking, funny, it's brilliant: a book that makes you think and is fun to read, and which you learn an awful lot from: what more could you want?
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2015
Fairly good condition. Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2016
Arrived promplty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2017
Enjoyable read - somehow the author makes an interesting tale out of doing very little other than going back and forth.

Didn't feel like I'd wasted my time reading it - but also didn't feel like I'd really gained a lot either...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2007
I enjoyed this book, and I've also enjoyed James Fenton's poetry that I sought out as a result of reading it. O'Hanlon tells a good story against himself, and the Iban people come across as, well, just like people, really. The change of tone as they encounter the Ukit towards the end, and the sense of a debasing of traditional culture is well handled and not overdone. It would have been nice for them to have found a rhino, but you can't have everything. If I ever go to Borneo, I shall certainly take a copy of Smythies with me.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 1997
I stumbled upon Mr. O'Hanlon's account of his jouney into deepest, darkest Borneo and thoroughly enjoyed his humorous account of travel that is well off the beaten path. Mr. O'Hanlon's humor is very British: understatement well said.

I've loaned this book to many friends and they all enjoyed it. I recommend any of his travel books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)