Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 21 May 2017
A great read apart from one niggling non sequitur in one part of the storyline, which slightly spoils it., However on the whole nicely structured and well written. Although a bit bumbling and not all there the main character has charm and one becomes empathetic with him and his problems
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2017
This is a very amusing read. Different setting in a very colonial Africa.
The characters are mostly believable and certainly the authorveorked hard to make us enjoy their predicaments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
I've never read any Boyd before, I'll try another although this one wasn't for me. Unlikable characters and unexceptional plot.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2017
Complexly plotted and searing humour - a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2017
Sharp and funny, well-written as ever by this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
William Boyd, fantastic author
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
A really funny book very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Read this many years ago. Bought it this time as a present, as I remember it being both thoughtful and funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
A good holiday read, funny, and well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
This is a carry on Africa with some good authentic Africa parts lots of slapstick it was not what I expected .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse