Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
21
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2001
What a special writer Roald Dahl is. In this collection of short stories we see his full range of rampant storytelling,gloriously macabre humour,and totally unpredictable twists. Check out the father who feeds his son Royal Jelly with ominous results,or the cruise passenger who jumps overboard to win a bet. See a man`s schooldays return to haunt him in GALLOPING FOXLEY,and a scheming wife`s shock in MRS BIXBY AND THE COLONAL`S COAT. All these and more ,told with style and glee,perfectly weighted to keep you hooked until the bitter end.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
This is one of Roald Dahl's finest works in adult fiction, so popular that it had its own TV series spanning 9 years.The book contains short stories selected from his other books "Kiss Kiss" and "Someone like you". I would categorise this book somewhere between suspense/black humour and thriller.

I found each story amusing with its dark, sinister humour and sometimes disturbing ending especially "The Landlady"! There are tales of revenge and nasty characters getting their comeuppance so in some respects not unlike "Charlie and the chocolate factory" or "James and the giant peach" but this is definitely not a book for children. Each story kept me in suspense and kept me reading until the very last word.

As an aside, I believe that the book is better at retaining the ambiguity and mystery of the ending of the storie. There are a few television episodes however that deviate slightly from the book and left you in no doubt about the fate of the key characters of the stories. Compare "The Landlady" and "Galloping Foxley" to the book.

Ideal for pre bed time reading or short commutes. If you like suspense and light hearted stories with dark wit then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2004
This book is very clever in the sense that Roald Dahl has managed to combine comedy ; horror ; murder and a whole host of other factors all into one book.
Definately a book that will keep you hooked from the beginning to the end.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2009
Blimey, That was Unexpected!

A silly little review of Roald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected

I grew up on Roald Dahl. With food, drink and oxygen I also had a brief flirtation, but the stories of Roald Dahl were my true love. I marvelled at the fantastic effects of George's marvellous medicine, cheered for the fantastic Mr. Fox, and got a bit unnerved by The Witches (although this was owing more to the protagonist's creepy grandmother than the villains of the story).

Imagine my delight, then, upon receiving Roald Dahl's Tales of the Unexpected as a birthday present. A two-hundred and eighty-ish page collection of charming short fiction from one of my favourite writers of all time! I assumed.

And I assumed correctly. The fiction is both short and charming (and, by some immense stroke of luck, it seemed, I had even guessed the number of pages correctly). While the witches and chocolate factories are non-existent, the masterful prose and unique, interesting characters are in abundance. Highlights include Taste, if only because it gives a - dare I say it - first taste of what's to follow, Lamb To The Slaughter, which includes the curiously homicidal Mary Maloney, Galloping Foxley, for the masterful use of a somewhat minimalistic plot to create such an intriguing story, Parson's Pleasure, for an ending left in so many ways to the reader's imagination and Royal Jelly, for being everything one can hope for in a Dahl story.

The flaws are few and far between. Some of the endings hover slightly too far on the ambiguous side, while some are perhaps made too obvious (such as Mrs. Bixby and the Colonel's Coat). Others perhaps feel a little anti-climactic (Edward the Conqueror, or maybe I'm missing something with that one).

This book is a very fine collection of short stories. Each story is a little gem, each one the product of an ingenious imagination.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
Fantastic short stories with stings in the tale as always from Mr Dahl but beware: all of these stories are available (and more) in " Roald Dahl: 5 Bestsellers, including 40 Tales of the Unexpected" 5 BESTSELLERS: Including Over 40 Tales of the Unexpected
so you're probably better off buying that instead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
[4.5]
Though there are some weaker stories, where I wanted a bit more, overall a great collection which I enjoyed reading again. Love Roald Dahl's sinister overtones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
An excellent book to read in snippets. I couldn't predict a lot of the twists but had great fun trying to guess!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Delighted to get so many old favourite stories for such little money. Good buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2016
Very pleased. My mum loves this book and reads it with her granddaughter, who is nine years old, so she sticks with his children's books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
An enjoyable recording. I bought it second-hand but it was in good condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse