Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
10
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2004
The first short story: Consider Her Ways; half the book, didn't interest me as the tale about a future female only society. I found the second half more interesting with short stories of people swapping places in time: Odd, Stitch in Time; and surprisingly a story about travelling to an alternate Earth (written well before Sliders): Random Quest. The book finishes with its best short story: A Long Spoon; where hi-tech man is able to out do the quill and parchment devil. The latter stories concentrate on the effects on the individuals involved focusing on their predicament thereby adding to the drama. As a reader you worry about them. John Wyndham is to be congratulated for exhibiting this skill in his short stories.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Fifty years since I discovered Wyndham (Triffids, Kraken, Chrysalids etc) this book of shorts reminds me why I enjoyed his stuff so much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
One of the very best fiction writers this country has ever produced should be more well-known, compulsive reading from cover to cover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Just as expected - used but good condition and delivered promptly - no problems. I would recommend this seller. Very pleased..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
Perfect to pick up when you only have a short time to read. Short stories with great twists
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2001
Yes, John Wyndham has another book of short stories out. He died over 30 years ago yet the stories don't date in the conventional sense. The writer could easily be writing about the past since the ideas as just as fresh as ever! It's not as good as "Seeds of time" but it's definitely one to add to your bookshelves. John Wyndham had one of the best writing minds of the 20th Century. It'd be a crime not to read any of his work!!!!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Brilliant first story with wonderfully chilling undertones.
Rest OK
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
I first reaaad this book as a teenager and wad found it thoroughly enteraining and thought-provoking. I bought this copy as a present for my daughter who had asked for other peopels' favourite books for birthday presents. It's a science fiction classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Excellent and thought provoking short stories
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
excellent compilation of REAL science fiction
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here