Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2016
This is the best textbook on object technology. I now understand the value of the object-oriented method and use it in my job as a computer programmer. I am a big fan of Bertrand Meyer. My favorite programming language is now Eiffel. Although not a native English speaker, Bertrand Meyer's mastery of English is perfect. I look forward to his next books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
After 5 years of OO develeopment, I thought I had a good understanding of OO (inheritance in particular) until I read this book. IMHO, this is the by far the most thorough book on OOAD because of Meyer's full treatment of the subject, including theoretical background and proofs.
As for Design by Contract, I have been using it since 1998 in my VB and C++ design/code and I have seen a radical improvement in my designs and code quality.
This book ought to be mandatory reading material for all OOAD practitioner and students.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2002
Get this book and get one up on those alleged 'OO Designers' who've never even heard of it! Bertrand Meyer is sometimes criticised for his strong opinions, but here they are all backed up with solid reasoning, lucid arguments and more than enough brevity to stop the whole lot being dull as dishwater.
You can have all the ISO's, CMM's, TickIts and whatever else is todays quality-control-red-tape flavour of the month, but none of these address the fundamental quality of the software design. Hence the quality of the software will always struggle. This book is a brilliant step in the right direction to developing good quality, manageable software.
Meyer describes, very clearly, practices and techniques that will get your basic class design up to scratch, as well as pointing out common pitfalls, again with logical, convincing arguments. There's none of this "Never do this unless you have to" approach that too many other software gurus get away with.
My only problem with the book is that it does lean towards Eiffel language. But after a brief look at Eiffel I think it's an excellent language that has been out-hyped by the Java and C++ despite being superior.
I wouldn't say it's a cover-to-cover read, it is a huge book, but I find that I can dip in virtually anywhere and find something of value. I just wish that this book was on as many desks as the "Teach yourself Product XYZ in 21 days books". You can read as many of those as you like, and you can subscribe to all the quality standards, but they contain nothing that will improve your software design. That's where this book comes in.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2004
Object-oriented Software Construction
Bertrand Meyer
This is a detailed book on the motivation and correct application of object orientation. Unlike other books I have read on the subject, this book contains a lot of information that will be of interest even to people who already consider themselves “experts” at writing object-oriented software.
The book is aimed at experienced developers who are not OO programmers, but would like to understand and get into this area. It is also aimed at intermediate programmers, who want a more rigorous approach or who want to broaden their horizons with techniques they may not have discovered.
The reader will learn design principles which are very nicely highlighted in blue boxes for easy skimming. There is not a great deal on design patterns, UML and refactoring, but the book is otherwise very complete and talks about the issues surrounding OO as well.
The book uses Eiffel as its notation, which is a pleasant language to read, and will be a refreshing change to programmers using C++ or Java, since it is a very complete language that introduces new concepts not implemented so fully in either C++, Smalltalk or Java. The book talks a lot about language design, which I personally found very interesting, and reasons why the various language design choices have been taken in Eiffel, and why the alternatives are inferior.
There is also a caveat here: Bertrand Meyer has a hidden agenda in promoting Eiffel, however for such an interesting and well argued book, this is forgivable. If you own only one book on OO, own this one.
Calum Grant
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2016
What if C++ didn't win over ? Would it be a better world ? You can ponder these questions over Bertrand Meyer's tome. This is not your typical manual - the perspective is wide and the style lofty, with references to classical literature. The subject - Object Oriented Programming and its incarnation, the Eiffel programming language. While C++ is a bastard conceived by C raping Simula, Eiffel is more purebred.

The first few chapters explain OOP concepts in a language-independent way. This part may seem redundant for today's developer (referential equality etc.), but bear in mind that the book was first published in the eighties, when the concepts weren't part of mainstream yet. The rest of the book deals with the Eiffel language and its unique features such as Design by Contract, Multiple Inheritance, SCOOP the multithreading model, and Eiffel Studio IDE. The books concludes with comparing Eiffel to other major programming languages.

As the language itself the book is very coherent and explains each part in context. e.g. how the functionality of Exceptions was determined by the Design by Contract. I beg to differ with author's assertion that Multiple Inheritance is a viable way for software reusability, but at least Eiffel implement them in a consistent way, and this is properly illustrated in the book. The book is both dated, as the programming landscape and Eiffel itself have evolved since, and very current, as many concepts it pioneered have gained traction recently - witness Design by Contract in C# or Ada; genericity in C#; or SCOOP principles reinvented by the Actor concurrency model. Eiffel did not attain the fame comparable to C++ or Java, but its influence is pervasive.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 1999
This book is quite simply the best book on programming that I have ever read. It is written with an intellectual rigor which is unfortunately rarely seen in this area. Every point is well argued and backed up with convincing evidence. If you are going to buy one book on software development in the whole of your life, never mind this year, it should be this one.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Too much theoretical book, no practical information contained.

If you are searching a book to boost your programming or architectural design skills, quickly leave this page and look elsewhere.

If you are an university teacher and you need a textbook to annhillate your students' interest for Computer Science (while looking like a pro in the process), you may consider this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2003
Those who have red a fair amount of stuff on OO methodologies, languages and technologies will have learned that ... no such thing as a standard OO methodology or language or technology exists. Every books author, programming languages inventor or methodologies designer gives a different definition of even the most common concepts you'll find in every book or article. Thus, the best one can do is to read as much as he can, and try to build his personal view of what OO means and brings. The literature, after all, is full of references, it's up to each of us to find the time to read them.
In pursuing the objective to read the best available sources, this OOSC2 deserves a special mention. It has several qualities that put it aparts from the pool.
First, it's complete. I mean, it could be your first book on OO and you would be gently but rigorously introduced to all the concepts you "should" (in "my" view) learn.
Second, it teaches an OO programming language, i.e. Eiffel. And this is good both because learning a programming language will give you the concrete sensation of one important application of OO technologies, and because Dr. Meyer has been the principal designer of Eiffel.
Third, in addition to OO technologies you'll learn another product of Dr. Meyer's mind: Design by Contract. I know, this is finely interwined with both OO techno and Eiffel that it doesn't seems "really added", but part of them. True, but you would have to buy another separate book (by Dr. Meyer itself) should you ever been interested only on it.
This said, from this book you'll gain a solid introduction and very likely a thourough understanding of OO technologies and of one widely famous OO programming language. That is: a good investment, both for your wallet and your time.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2003
A read this book many years ago when first starting out in OO programming, and to me the sign of a good book is whether I am still reading it today.
In fact I ended up buying a new copy, my original was so old and broken and covered in several years of scrawl.
Classic sections on design by contract are still relevant today as they where when first written
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Without a doubt the best person to learn object oriented analysis and design from. After reading this though, I realised that the second edition had been significantly revised, so I bought that instead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)