Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2015
This book is a must, especially for junior to midlevels developers and for whoever doesn't know about what Clean Code means. Reading this book, improved by far my way of writing and thinking about code. As soon as I started reading it, I realized how much I was missing something like this.
Simple and clear, it is a precious book with wonderful concepts, for any developer of any language (even if the examples in the book are in Java).
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2009
It is the most up to date and succinct piece of writing regarding the construction of good software from the ground up as well as tackling legacy code. It's jam packed full of gems and practical advice that you can apply immediately. There is no fluff and no waffling, the examples are awesome (all in Java although I code in C#) and apply to "real world" problems that we face every day. There is no way you'll put this book down after reading it and just forget about the lessons like so many other books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2011
This book is quite simple:

You read it.

You start to think differently about your code.

You start to write better code.

By the time you finish this book, you will be a better developer. The examples are in Java, but you can translate the concept easily into any modern language. I am starting to apply this way of thinking to C#, PHP and JavaScript and the concepts work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
This book somehow manages to take a relatively dull subject and actually make it entertaining, and practical. The book starts off by explaining with good examples why certain practices can be misleading, it then goes on to explain possible suggestions - it is very clear that this is by no means the only good way to do things which I think is great. Then after explaining numerous bad practices to you as well as ways to tidy things up it provides numerous examples that allow you to actually try to pick up what you've learned. This is brilliant because at least in my case I cannot remember anything without practicing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
A great book about coding style, that I recommend to every software developer.

Some of the guidelines are just common sense, but the resulting picture is amazing. The book is well-organized and the writing style is pleasing. The most important aspects about writing good quality code are pointed out throughout the entire book, and will stick into your mind. Once you are done reading it, you will probably forget the smallest details but you will definitely write better code. Later you will be able to refresh your memory just reading the last chapter, that is indeed a summary of best practice.

As someone pointed out on other reviews, the examples in this book are written in Java, but it should not be a problem for a book about clean code. All you have to understand is the Java syntax, and that is something that every programmer should be able to learn easily.

One last note: I don't see why the author wrote the two chapters on concurrent programming, since there are far better titles on that subject, but the five stars stand anyway.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
If you're new to software then I guess there is SOME good advice here but I found some astonishingly wrong statements in here like 'methods should do just one thing' with an example showing a method doing.... TWO.... things! Or using constants unless the 'magic number' is so obvious that a constant isn't needed. Here is a direct quote: 'And in the FEET_PER_MILE case, the number 5280 is so very well know and so unique a constant that readers would recognize it even if it stood alone on a page with no context surrounding it.' No, I didn't know that either (we live in the 21st century in Europe) but this guy can't see that a physicist might immediately recognise Plank's constant while the system admin guy fixing CERN's outage at 3am on Christmas morning is less likely to be familiar with this. He's got helpful advice like 'variables should be well named' (as if other books say they should be as badly named as possible). Its page after page of waffle, opinion, inaccuracies, contradictions and basically not worth the money. Buy Martin Fowler's Refactoring book instead - the advice is more concise and focused on the really critical areas of code and actually serves real world examples with solutions.

I'll give it 3 stars for the newbie programmers (no more) and 1 star for experienced programmers who want to improve their skills.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2011
I knew this was going to be an excellent book from the moment I heard Uncle Bod describing his ideas of Clean Code at his key note at an ACCU conference. I bought the book there and then, but didn't start reading it until a couple of years later. More recently I got it signed by Uncle Bob at Skillsmatter. After just a few pages it propelled itself into my top three books every programmer should read (behind Kent Beck's Test Driven Development and The Pragmatic Programmer by Andy Hunt & David Thomas) and at the end it's still there.

The chapter on comments is worth the price of the book alone. I have worked in places over the last few years, where comments have been encouraged to explain the code, rather than writing code that explains itself. Another great chapter is the one on functions and the advice to keep them small is especially good and compelling. As I look back over the table of contents now, every chapter that describes how to improve an aspect of code is an absolute mine of good advice.

The final few chapters contain a number of refactorings. One on an application from the ground up and the others on existing code written by other people. This is the only place where the book got gratuitous and I must admit I skipped most of the final refactoring.

The final chapter is a summary of the advice given in the rest of the book and something I will find myself referring to again and again.

If you've read Test Driven Development and The Pragmatic Programmer, make sure you read Clean Code next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
This book states the obvious. From start to finish. There is nothing in this book that you are going to see that will blow your mind with crazy coding practices that you would never be possibly come up on your own.

That's what makes this book so amazing! It teaches you that code *must* be obvious and simple from everyone to understand.

If you are working with code, this book is a must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Great book a must read for every programmer. Even though I have to say that the author is very extreme in the way he wants his code to be he definitly knows what he is talking about. Also at the end of the book convert some public messy code to clean code and describes the process which I thought was really nice! Great read aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Having programmed for 15 years now, it is nice to get some reminder and fresh ideas into what been a professional developer means. It is not because everyone around you is doing it wrong that you should give up and cut corners. Been professional is all about your behavior, code of conducts, you need to put the effort on a daily basis. Thank you uncle Bob for this.

This is quite an easy and pleasant read, I read it in a day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)