Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2014
Book: Excellent, 5 stars
Packing and Cover: 2 stars

I have worked through the book previously. I therefore knew the content and quality. It is an excellent book. The treatment of derivatives are appropriate. Personally, I thought there isn't a great deal of mathematical treatment, which may help the readers, who are not mathematically extensively inclined.

Packing and covers: I should have opened the packing, in time, to check for any damages. It was too late to return and seek a replacement as the back cover and binding sides of the book are damaged and torn. It is not a big deal, though I would have still loved a replacement. I would expect the seller/amazon to exercise care while packing and sending paperback books. Perhaps, amazon/sellers may want to consider entertaining replacement requests for an extended period of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
The book arrived very quickly - in less than a week! It's a great textbook for every finance student and it provides a thorough guide to the complicated world of derivatives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
made £4.30 on the markets
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2017
Perfect!! Thank you
P.S. this is the best derivatives book in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
This book is a classic. This edition was the latest at the time, contains a CD as well. Great for someone who need derivatives knowledge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Indian version is not quite the same as the église one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
A must-have for any student reading the Options, futures and derivatives 8th edition. It not only has numerical answers but also explains part of the theory in the form of answers to the questions. The manual covers only the Practice Questions after each chapter, not the Further Questions.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2016
The book was tottally different with the picture and spec provided by the seller. Specifically, this book published in India and much more specific for india study and quite different with the original book that I found in the library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
My first edition of this book I read was the second edition. It was the best of a few books on the theme. It has changed a lot, but the principle constitution of the book is in every edition the same. It begins with forwards and futures, option and hedging. He turns to the preliminaries, like yield curve, duration, interest rate future, swaps and the boundaries of options. On this basis, he develops the binomial tree and Black Scholes valuation.
All modern forms of derivatives can be valued with the classical instruments, like credit contracts, knock out derivatives and other exotic options. It is easily explained and the reader can follow it. All stochastic models are explained for the advanced one. It is a great book for beginners and for the advanced reader it is a reference book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Well written, clear examples. It is a great foundation for understanding derivatives.

Note of caution: You need to have a good understanding of mathematics as it assumes good knowledge of differentiation. I would suggest you pair this book with a financial mathematics text book.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)