Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 7 June 2017
Great, worked for me in paperback format. The bindings of the hardback can get in the way of reading the maps, but the down side is that the book goes a little dog-eared. I still think that it is better than a mobile phone app, does not need batteries can be viewed accurately under a red light or red torch. I think that any type of astronomical club or club activity needs at least one of these each.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Brilliant book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
Its more than 45 years since I bought my first copy of Norton's. Since then three editions I own have fallen to bits with constant use. Then, about 15yrs ago, I swapped to Will Tirion's Cambridge Star Atlas 2000 and Norton's took a back seat.
A recent opportunity to re-look at Norton's lead me to the 20th edition. It's good, very good as a reference handbook that will initially be beyond the needs of most users, hence perhaps the more critical reviews on Amazon by those who still need to learn their astronomy. Norton's has always included technical terms, definitions and sometimes obscure facts that are mostly never needed but are extremely useful nevertheless for a rounded out appreciation of our earth in space and the night sky in general.
Ian Ridpath has done a fine job of bringing the reference handbook up to date. But that's where I stop any praise. The publishers, and I dont blame Ian for this, have asked far more than is necessary from Norton's and it risks losing its appeal as a simple star atlas. Much of the new stuff, astrophotography for instance, should not have been included. Astro-imaging is evolving faster than Norton's ever did and has absolutely no place in this venerable publication. There are other bloated sections that need not be there; who needs yet another comparison of telescope types. Norton's is about the night sky, not the equipment with which to view it.
The 17 star charts are still, without any exception (including Tirion and most of the available planetarium software), the best in the business with which to illustrate the celestial sphere AT THE TELESCOPE. But the new heavyweight format of the book severely limits its use as a star atlas as Arthur Norton originally intended nearly a century ago...the needs of the beginner astronomer have not and never will change...Norton's fulfilled an essential need to find ones's way around the sky but the 20th edition compromise its original unique value. I definatley wont to lug it outside with torch and binoculars, for which Norton's was intended.
Norton's Star Atlas has been done a grave disservice by the publishers in going against its intended use by the amateur. Norton's was always THE star atlas, the reference handbook was always of secondary importance. Now, the 20th Edition is yet another astronomical book on the book store shelves with not much above the rest to merit its purchase...which probably accounts for its severely reduced price compared with earlier editions available on Amazon.
It's a real shame that such a venerable British star atlas should be devalued in the way that it has by Penguin Group (US) Inc, to capture an international readership.

Kevin J Kilburn FRAS
Manchester Astronomical Society
Society for the History of Astronomy
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 1999
If one book could cover most topics in general astronomy authoritatively, its Norton. From recommendations on reporting celestial phenomena to specifying telescope characteristics, it seems the author grouped everything that could be of interest to earthbound amateur observers. Very terse in descriptions, Norton's is geared to advanced astronomers who require a reference or a refresher. For example, its star maps are not as clear as a Wil Tirion presentation, but it does not suffer from lack of completeness. For astute beginners, the book is very well indexed and organized, so an unfamiliar concept referred in one section is detailed elsewhere. Readers are rewarded with a book densely packed with information in under two hundred pages.
I was impressed by the care made in the production of the paperbound handbook. Not immediately obvious is that the large page format allow charts and maps to present detail clearly. Tyvec-like bindings allow pages to open flat without distortion. I did not find any typographical errors. The maps, are not ideal for field astronomy use.
Norton's is not light reading, but is encyclopedic in breath and style. For the 20th Edition, its editors should strive for readability, and garner a 5/5 rating.
Marv Gozum, MD
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Excellent - well described basis for celestial times and co-ordinates helps to make sense of Right Ascension, declination, sidereal times and the like. Most of the book is reference material and there is little else to touch it - that it has survived to its 20th edition speaks loudly of its value. Unlike many text books these days it is not expensive in my opinion
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2011
This is a 'must-have' for anyone with an interest in astronomy. It is by far the best that I have found and includes essential information for caring for and setting up your telescope.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
One of the best reference astronomical books around. Having used this book for the past 40 years its still one of the most useful around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2017
Norton's Star Atlas has been a classic of its kind for at least 60 years and for very good reasons. It is invaluable for both amateur and professional use. The detailed star charts, plotted against the equatorial coordinate system, form the center of the work, but there is in addition a wealth of information about the stars and planets, and so many other matters of concern to a serious astronomer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
This is the de facto standard in star atlases,and it dosent disapoint ,my only minor caviat , once you have a reasonable set up,you may be looking for guide stars with lower mag than 8.5 for possible guide scope candidates, (idea for the publishers , for areas of interest give us small area maps keyed to the the area of interest {nebula ,clusters etc}heald in an index!}).. top product ,recomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2010
A stellar legend and cult publication.
A phenomenal repository of knowledge
and a wonderful testament to the original
compiler almost 100 years ago.
However, good vision is required as the
type face is unnecessarily small. Which
rather militates against its use as a
companion for typical observing conditions
in poor light. Reprint with larger text
would be much welcomed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)