Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 November 2010
This was my first book on GPU computing and a really pleasant surprise: well written, up to date and extremely easy to read.

The author introduces the basic tools of the trade, adding more constructs and techniques as the book progresses, including not-so-basic topics as "texture memory", "CUDA-OpenGL integration", "Streams" and "atomic operations" (and going as far as to deal with mutexes in the appendix).

The style is witty, clear and informative and the examples appealing: on each chapter at least a simple program is presented bottom up, they show some interesting graphics and give an immediate idea of what GPU computing can actually deliver, without relying on the "usual" plain number crunching examples.

Being an introductory text however, this book doesn't provide all the content required for serious GPU developing and should be complemented with other resources (by the way, suggested in the last chapter): for instance, it doesn't cover the GPU hardware capabilities and limitations, and the ways to work around them (you can find more about this in "Programming massively parallel processors" which I have also reviewed).

All in one, a great introductory book which is both informative and a pleasure to read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
Maybe I bought the wrong book, but this is the only one I found that looked like it was going to easily explain how to start with CUDA. The first chapter explains the awesomeness of CUDA and gets the reader all excited. Chapter 2 is all about getting set up and is way too short and does not provide enough detail. I get the impression from the book that you can just download the right applications and just start programming with the examples. Maybe for some people this is the case, but not for me. I have the right hardware/software (nvidia CUDA card, the nvidia SDK, and Microsoft Visual Studio C++ 2008 and have got the CUDA examples form the site to run, but not build) and am still trying to get Hello World Part two to compile. At the moment I am messing around with custom build steps for now trying to get it to compile. Would be nice if the book explains whether the HelloWorld file is supposed to be a .cu file and if it would mention all the other details like how to set up the IDE to work with CUDA. Once I get set up, Im sure the book will be useful, but until then I'm stuck reading forums.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
While this book does assume a familiarity with C/C++ and object-oriented programming, it's a straightforward and easy book to follow. The provided code is explained well and without unnecessary jargon. CUDA and GPGPU programming is, in itself, remarkably straightforward, but unlike many of the online material I found before buying this book, it actually takes the time to explain what's going on, rather than forcing the reader to decipher someone else's uncommented code. A worthwhile purchase for anyone looking to get started with CUDA.

This is also my first programming book bought on Kindle; the format works brilliantly and it's more manageable to have my Nexus 7 propped next to my laptop while I'm working rather than having to wrestle with a lump of dead tree that moves of its own accord far more than a dead thing should!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This is a good basic book on CUDA. CUDA can be quite difficult to pick up from reading web articles but this starts with basics and provides some of the low-end, simple stuff you need when you're starting out, so it fills in the gaps left by web resources which tend to be either high level and non-specific, or far too technical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
Assuming you can code C to a decent standard, this book is perfect for an introduction. I would recommend the reader use this book in conjunction with the documentation on the website, especially when it comes to installation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2015
A good introduction to the programming language.
The emphasis is on getting you coding, not to explain the hardware details.
Good for an absolute beginner as myself.
Be prepared for computer science 'jokes'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
It explains what CUDA programming is, with easy to follow examples. The similaritý with C language is also exposed clairly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
Good survey of GPU programming covering a number of key aspects well. Not deep but valuable for someone new to the field.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
...because all the sample code and all the images in the Kindle edition are hardly readable.
Once again Kindle editions of books containing not just plain text, but also images/tables/formulas/sample code, proved to be extremely disappointing. Almost £16 wasted on this, I can't really read the code examples.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2016
good book! explains things by the detail
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)