Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£54.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 May 2002
A tersely-written, succint and comprehensive overview of the human skeleton, including sections on analytical methods currently employed by physical anthropologists. These include age/sex assessment, excavation/recovery guides, photographic methods, stature/ancestry assessment, palaeopathology and population biology. Three case studies, from the fields of hominid palaeontology, archaeology and forensic anthropology are also included to add depth to the methods and procedures discussed. Despite being first published almost ten years ago, White's superb and succint writing style makes many recent publications appear superfluous by comparison. Probably the best book of its kind ever written.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2002
I found this book very helpful - not just as a tool to aid in aging/sexing bones but for extra features like Anatomical terminology and the case studies. The only disadvantage I found was the price - nevertheless a must for the Anatomist, Archaeologist etc, etc. (Forensic science student)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a really nice book for the archaeology student, the pictures are life size so you can compare the bones to the pictures to work out what they are. This is very helpful for tiny finger and toe bones. It also goes into the theories behind dating and aging the individual.
This book is also useful on site when you have to report on the body you have just found. I would encourage any archaeologist who is into bones to buy this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
Book has incredibile pictures, great quality in this edition. Reading and studying from it was a pleasure! I also loved bones intersections, so useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Good condition, stickers on spine and some faint highlighting in the introduction but very much as described by seller. Content is hard work for me but that's what I was looking for, we'll presented explanations of technical terms as well as a map of the human skeleton. Delivery was prompt. Happy all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2006
I needed to read this book for my course, and it's really well (clearly)laid out and informative. The examples are all current - including all the ethical issues surrounding excavation, and the osteo-photographs are excellent for comparisons. I would certainly recommend it for any budding osteo-archaeologist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Fantastic reference text. Images are excellent. Covers everything a Forensic Anthropology Student could need for an Osteology class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
A must-have companion when studying archaeology/anatomy, great pictures and diagrams, very clear!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2007
Probably one of the best, most interesting, and certainly the most useful, books I've ever owned. It played a major role in helping me gain a 1st in Human Bioarchaeology. Well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
If I was not desperate for this book it would heve been returned immediatley.

The content of the book is not in question it was the manner of its delivery.

In the top right corner of the book is a massive dent, to pay so much for a book then have it arrive in this state is upsetting.

Send me a new one so I am not without the book for any time and I will return the other when I recieve it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)