Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2017
for those thinking of learning to ride a motorbike. BEWARE. The cost of the full course is about £700 + the clothing. The course itself is good but it doesn't include avoiding lunatic car drivers or continental lorry drivers. The actual cost of a bike second hand is such that its cheaper to buy a car!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
This book is completely pointless. It doesn't teach you anything about learning to ride that you can't find on the internet. I suggest the DSA's "Official DSA Guide to Riding" if you're looking to learn about riding.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
This book provides an overview of what one will learn in CBT and what will be tested, but provides absolutely no real useful advice.
I can't see what value it actually adds to anyone trying to learn to ride.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Excellent publication, vital reading for the new motorcyclist, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
Very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Essential reading and help if you wanna pass that 'bike test.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Very Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
I'm happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Don't bother with this. I was very excited about my motorcycle theory test, and I bought all of the books because I didn't want to miss out. The book is designed specifically to extract money from that type of over-eager person.

The book has nothing of value, but merely provides a high level overview of what a motorcycle does and the process of obtaining a licence. All of the information is available on the DSA website. This is just a picture-book with tedious step-by-step illustrations and photographs of the various processes. (It even has pictures of the lockers you lock your bags in when you take your theory test.) Kind of like a book you might give a preschool 4-year-old that tells them what school will be like.

Furthermore, it doesn't actually give you any real information. It just tells you that you will need to learn how to do this and that. For example, here's a quote from a random page:

"Wheeling the motorcycle and braking to stop:
You'll learn how to balance a motorcycle while wheeling it both left and right (in either order).
Your trainer will show you
* where to stand
* how to hold the motorcycle
* how to lean the motorcycle"

See what I mean? There is no substance to the book, it just lists things that you will need to learn elsewhere.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
I bought this book hoping for some real in depth explanations on correct road positioning, techniques for ensuring good observation etc. Instead, it is a fairly basic list of the things the examiner will check which you can find for free on the DVLA website and You-Tube page, with no clearer insights.

For example, in every single section where it say's "Things to Avoid" it says something like "Inappropriate Observation" - Yes, I know Inappropriate observation is a bad thing (when has inappropriate anything been a good thing to do on a test???) , but I was hoping for a better explanation on what would be considered inappropriate, or what would be ideal (for example, "When pulling away first check both mirrors, then the left hand blind spot, then the right hand blind spot, ensuring that the examiner can see that you have made the checks" (note - I don't know if this is the correct procedure, but just an example of the level of detail I was hoping for)).

Same criticism of the on road test section - Of course "correct road positioning" is important. But I was hoping for some examples and diagrams to show common situations and the appropriate positioning that is recommended.

Very disappointing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)