Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2010
I am very happy and delighted and on top of the moon for passing my life in the UK test. Not only did I passed the test but my son did also.We both past it in only one attempt. So here is my recommendation. Firstly, the 2010 edition Life in the UK Test-Study Guide (The essential study guide for the British citizenship test)must be read thoroughly from the very first page. Do not leave out any chapters. When you are finish reading, answer all the questions at the back of the book. Secondly, you must do all the Official Practice Questions and Answers in the book that is titled'Passing the Life in the UK Test'-2009. This book is ideal for passsing the test alot of questions comes from both of these books. Thirdly, you can use the internet to practice your questions and answers because it is an electronic test so make use of it. If you have more time you can do more practice test but remember the questions for the actual test will be slightly changed to trick you. Therefore, by puting aside aleast 2 weeks and being consistent with studying (every day) before your test you should be fine, now good luck!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2010
A guide which is funny, moving, generous, brutal and intelligent, and which poses the ultimate question, what Life in the UK is for - and that is as much as anyone could ask.

Okay, the above is bunkum - it's a book that poses the same silly questions again & again & again. But they are the exact silly questions you will need to answer should you ever need to sit this exam.

I'd venture that no natural UK citizen could pass the test without studying 'Life in the United Kingdom'. I've lived here for 25 years and read a brodsheet daily, but only got about half of the questions right when I tried the online test before reading the guide. Much of the information will be useful to newly arrived immigrants, but just as much is pedantic trivia, not at all relevant to life in the UK.

But you wouldn't be reading this unless you need to take the test - silly or not, this will test whether you know what they want you to know.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
I bought the book to study for my citizenship exam. I had an earlier version of this book and there are definitely noticeable improvements with the layout and some content. It really is a good guide to life in the UK but also worthwhile for people who are native citizens of this country. Even my British partner found it interesting.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
Well, it does what it says on the box. It provides information that will help you pass the Life in the UK test.

As it is designed to cater for people who may not necessarily have English as a first language, it is written in a very simple style that can make it a bit of a dull, boring read. It also doesn't go into as much detail as it seems that it should, judging on the example questions. It also has some vaguely politically slanted statements which, actually, adds a bit of interest but I'm sure that was unintentional. The interest, not the political slant.

Then again, if it works, why worry. You wouldn't read it for relaxation or enjoyment.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
My Thai wife failed the test 1st time ,my fault, I thought if she could remember all the questions and answers with this book she might pass ,sadly she would have had to be a memory woman so many stupid questions and some of the answers wrong ,however she did pass it in the next 2 weeks after reading the proper book BUT the most helpful book is the one written in Thai sold here ,my wife said it really helped her understand what they where asking , eg " who pays for a sight test?" she didn't know what a sight test was , if they had asked " who pays for an eyesight test " she would have understood .
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
I highly recommend buying this book because it shows you what random bits of information the Home Office will test you on. I bought the book, did it, and passed the test. Though the real test that I did was a bit harder, the questions on the real test are very similar to those in the book - a mixture of very specific pub-quiz-like questions (eg. what is the population of Wales), common sense/common knowledge (eg. smoking in public places is not allowed), things you generally look up on the internet on an as-need basis (eg. who to contact for information on setting up your own business), and other general questions about the UK you might or might not already know (eg. questions about the voting age, etc., What Is Wimbledon).

I also like the little 'Notes' in the answers part of the book. They're little explanatory notes that accompany some answers. They appear sporadically, and some read like little bits of advice.

The whole book doesn't take that long to do. There are 17 practice tests, and an online one. At the very least, you'll learn a few little facts you never knew that will serve you well in your daily life, like how there are an estimated 15 million children under 19. Useful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
It was very easy and straigh forward to prepare for Life in the UK exam with this book! it covers all the questions, all you need to pass your test!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
Don't confuse this with Life in the United Kingdom: A Journey to Citizenship. This similarly-named "Study Guide" is simply a set of practice tests, just like the Home Office's Official Practice Questions and Answers. So get either the Q & A book or the study guide plus the actual Journey to Citizenship; you don't need all three.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Dull, dull, tedious - and fortunately no longer relevant as it's been superseded by new study material.

You guessed it - that is even more dull - which means the questions aren't interesting either. Sorry folks :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Good little book which, if you can answer all the questions, you will very likely pass the test (although maybe need an updated version now as the test has changed since when I took it a couple of years ago). Found this book very helpful in homing in on the likely questions which was then proven to be the case when I passed the test with relative ease.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)