Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
29
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
25
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2002
This has to be one of Quentin Blake's best stories yet. Professor Dupont is ridiculously set in his ways. Every morning he goes through exactly the same routine, washing, getting dressed, putting on his tie, going downstairs and finally, throwing open the conservatory doors and exlaiming to his 10 parrots "Good morning, my fine feathered friends!" The parrots are beside themselves with the boredom of this routine and one morning decide to disappear for a little while. Your job is to turn the pages and find the parrots, which of course Professor Dupont can't find himself, so children love feeling cleverer than him. Eventually, of course, he finds them all back where they started, but in spite of this, as Mr Blake puts it, "Some people never learn."

Exquisitely illustrated, I can't rate Quentin Blake highly enough, and any child (or adult) reading it will adore it. And if you love this, try another Quentin Blake book called "Patrick" about two children, an old violin, lots of sparkly, magical happenings. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 1999
This book is currently the favourite of my 2 and 4 year old sons. It is one of the few books they can both enjoy at the same time. The story of the cockatoos, exasperated by their owner, and Quentin Blake's exceptional illustrations turn what might otherwise be perceived as yet another counting book into one in which they are interested and involved.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
It's a covert little counting book with a lovely little story. We love the hide and seek on each page. Our little boy took to this book before his 2nd birthday even and enjoys looking for the birds hiding on each page. Our older girl who has just turned 4 is a little too old for it and finds the simple concept a little dull.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This has to be one of Quentin Blake's best stories ever because Professor Dupont, the main character, is very lazy and can't find his exotic and mischievous cockatoos. You will be delighted with the way the story unfolds between him and his exquisitely naughty birds through outstanding illustrations!
This is a definite hit for young children and some adults! You will find yourself being drawn into the story, smiling and laughing along the way.
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2011
This story is about ten cockatoos and a professor.But the cockatoos go missing.He looks everywere and although he can't see them you can spot the cockatoos in each room.
This fantastic story is sutible for toddlers,children and adults.The pictures are superb and my class like it because Quentin Blake is a incredible author and illustrator.
By Mungo

Professor Dupont has 10 cocktoos.Every day Professor Dupont does the same thing.Find out what happens to him and play a little birdy spotting game.

I loved this book!It really blows your mind. The cheeky cocktoos really make me laugh.The pitures really do jump out at you. Silly Professor Dupont is sillier than the smart cocktoos.
BY HARRIET

Cockatoos is about a man called Proffeser Dupont and his ten multicoulored cockatoos.Proffesser
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
My three year old son absolutely loves this book. We had it on loan from the library several times and eventually had to get our own copy. He loves reciting it word for word and counting the cockatoos. It's an enjoyable book for parents to read too so I don't get fed up with it either. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
I have been a Quentin Blake fan for as long as I remember and read his books to my children when they were growing up, enchanted by his playful humour and his wonderful colourful loose style of illustrating. This time I bought the book for myself. I don't have the excuse of small children anymore but still find his books irresistable! Good for any age, and particularly for those who like to combine learning with humour and original artwork.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
Wizards book review
This book is very good because you can play a little game where you find the missing cockatoos . Quentin Blake thinks about the pictures first, he thinks about what children would want to see in the pictures. Professor Dupont is a funny character he is stuck in his ways and does the same thing everyday! Will he ever learn? The cockatoos are sneaky little birds.
This book is suitable for toddlers, children and adults.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
Yr 3 Girl
Presser Dupont is funny and fantastic. He all ways dos the same thing over and over again. He winds up the cockatoos up. This book is suitable for kids and adults. Quentin Blake is a fantastic author. He writes funny books. He has his own stile about his drawing. If you see a books pitcher you well know that it is a Quentin Blake book. It is the best book ever. Everyone wad love to read it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
My class at Northfield Manor enjoyed this book because we thought it was funny and it will help young children to count.
Professor Dupont looked every where in his house but he couldn't find them. Eventually we find out that the Cockotoos had broken the window in the conservatory to escape Professor Duponts routine. Can you find all the Cockatoos as you read the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Need customer service? Click here