Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
305
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2015
Love this book on a second (many years after the first) reading! Dodie is a lovely writer, for adults - I remember I didn't as a kid enjoy the 101 Dalmatians ..but her style and imagination here are delightful.

Recommended to anyone who wants to understand the magical years of the late 1930s (book was published in 1949, written in the Second Wolrd War, and evokes the England Dodie had left behind) - magical for those with money or at least 'distressed gentry'. A YA novel before its time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
I loved this book
It was beautifully written , honest and truly refreshing
I will certainly be recommending it for my ladies book club
The author paints vibrant pictures in your mind of "old" England and her eccentric family
Totally engaging
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Unexpectedly hilarious from the start. Many laugh-out-loud moments from the delightful Cassandra. Timeless in its preoccupations with unrequited love. Have already bought another copy for my sister.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
Not my cup of tea. Bought it as this months Dartford book club read, but can't get into it. Off to the charity shop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Can’t believe I haven’t read this before, I’m sure there’s going to be a film version soon...! Really great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Very interesting in sight to a bygone age .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Unusual story, quite enjoyable,ending rather unsatisfying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
Captivating read. Could not put it down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
the kind of story where you grow to like your characters so much so that you want to know what happened to them after..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
stylish, evocative and thoroughly enjoyable, every teenager should read it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse