Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 1999
I have read most of Scott peck's stuff and find it all relevant and sometimes very irritating. This is of a different order to all the rest and I heartily recommend it. The book describes the stages of building community and is way beyond the other analyses (I have a fair bit of facilitation experience). I have taken part in two workshops inspired by his work and to a significant extent use his insights on an ongoing basis in both my private and professional lives. If you are interested in knowing how to help with the world in the state that it is in, read this book. It is worth the price for the introductory story alone.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
This book is hard work. As seems to be the "American way", the reader is reminded over and over again of points made. That and the author's tendency to explain the meaning of words and phrases in minute detail just in case the reader is unable to comprehend them makes this a tiresome book at best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
Peck produces an awesome insight into the power of building true community in your life. The book is truly amazing for the most part, though I almost gave it 4 stars due to the final 3 chapters being almost a personal crusade against institutions that he did not like. However I think I will excuse this given his good intent and the few interesting lessons to be found in those chapters also. This book is a real life-changer, it really should be on everyone's must-read list.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
A useful model for facilitating groups, although I would like more in-depth training on the Tavistock model which inspired it. Some regurgitating of stuff from other books, but also some new ideas from a truly brilliant mind. If only the world were run along these lines.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I read this superb book back in 2009, and scarcely a month goes by that I do not recommend it to someone else. Even after all this time, I still find myself drawing upon 2 key teachings from this book. The first is Peck's model for the 4 stages of spiritual evolution, which he paralleled seamlessly with the 4 stages of community. This model really helped me understand why people adopt different ideologies at different stages of life, and why people at different stages cannot always understand each other's motivations. The second teaching was Peck's discussion on how politeness can often breed 'pseudo-community' and how true consensus in society comes from daring to enter into conflicts together, rather than skirt around them. While surely some parts of this book are 'dated', it remains (for me) a classic on the dynamic of interpersonal relationships and a 'must read' for anyone who works with groups, teams, communities or organisations of social change.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2015
I have been a 'fan' of Scott Peck for many years...I hadn't read this book before. Very much addressing American lifestyle and US institutions. The basic premise and analyses are sharp and to the point...although a little dated now. A very dense typed book with only a few spacious paragraphs...but I preservered to the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Scott Peck's approach to community making is of a different quality to, say, Starhawks, in that he deals chiefly with communion - a phenomenon that can create unification in groups of disparate people, from smallish seminars to stadium filling audiences.
His experience as recounted in this book goes right back to 1968, when he was posted in a military hospital in Japan to begin his career as a psychiatrist.
His concern with peace-building fills the last chapters, where community-building becomes a matter of global urgency that should concern us all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
Haven't; yet, finished reading...However. So far so Good...Lucky for Scotty...I so admire his transparent Honest Openness, to all aspects of his life...Always enjoy reading his Books...Though; this intro a bit slow...Was mostly about him...Now, Will wait to access the whole book.
Have several friends in New-Zealand That want to sent copies too...But Hay....So far put 2 address in & sadly Amazon, Cant send. Will try a third..??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
This book makes an excellent case for the construction of authentic community. It outlines the steps to arrive at this type of community. It is a brilliant resource for anyone involved in teamwork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Another excellent book from Mr Peck. His insight on any subject is beneficial. He is a great eye-opener, honest and never patronizing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)