Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2014
Can only endorse everyone else's comment. Have had this book for over 30 years and it is still frequently used. Very spicy delicious chick-peas - the name of this recipe says it all!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2006
Madhur Jaffrey's recipes always work and she makes them seem so do-able and straightforward. Thanks to Madhur it's possible to cook authentic delicious food at home and this vegetarian book is a must for any collection regardless of whether you are vegetarian or not.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
Just ordering a new copy, the old one having finally and completely fallen apart after 20-odd years. We have a large range of vegetarian cookbooks, including others by Madhur Jaffrey, but this is the one we always turn back to. Many of the recipes have become staples, both easy ones such as the spicy chickpeas and slightly more time-consuming ones such as the superb Dum Aloo.

I generally try out a new recipe exactly as written and then adapt it. The only note of caution, and the only real criticism, is that Jaffrey uses far too much salt (a point she seems to take on board in her later books).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
In the early 1970s and 1980s, Madhur was already trying to introduce authentic recipes with all the produce that is only becoming familiar today in the UK. A classic, I dearly hope it'll be reprinted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Lost or lent my original copy and was lost without it. Great book and a good read. Inspiring. Even if you only try one of two of these dishes, you'll make and enjoy them again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
good book, lots of different recipes from a huge variety of regions. No photographic illustrations so not very inspiring in that respect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Lovely recipes easy to follow and so many of them even though they are vegetarian dishes they are so delicious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
Used this years ago, lovely recipes. Remembered it recently and found a used copy for son in his new home.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Madhur Jaffrey's Eastern Vegetarian Cooking.
My brother bought me this book years ago, following a conversation we had about vegetarian food. Neither of us are vegetarians, however we do appreciate good fresh home cooking. I was interested in the Persian recipes in this book,and found many uncomplicated delicious recipes which appealed very much to my non-vegetarian family, and could be rustled up in no time at all. Try the carrots cooked with raisins and dates,which was delicious served with a roast chicken dinner, and her Kateh rice, which is explained very clearly in this cookery book. The Bengali recipes are outstanding, my family loved the Bengali Tomatoes, and another Indian recipe for Corn with Coconut Milk. Many recipes are from the Far East too, and there are menu suggestions for middle-eastern menus, Chinese, Indian, Korean and Japanese There are no colour photographs in this book, and the method is written in paragraph form, which isn't as easy as recipe instructions with bullet points, but Madhur Jaffrey works her magic again, and the recipes are detailed, so as you know exactly how they should turn out.
I picked up this book again after moving house, and found I had bookmarked many pages. After having enjoyed a TV programme on sprouted seeds cookery, I'm going to be looking at the extensive selection described in this book. There are plenty "Comfort Food" recipes in this book, and Madhur includes Kitcheri recipes, which combine rice and "Dals" We enjoy this type of dish served with any of Madhur's yoghurt dishes.
This book doesn't have any colour photos,but the variety of recipes that are explained so clearly more than make up for that.

I'd like to draw your attention to the fact that this book : Eastern Vegetarian Cooking is actually the UK edition. The US edition of the same book comes under a different title : World of the East: Vegetarian Cooking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
quick delivery but not the same edition? different cover - i have the older edition to the one shown
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)