Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 September 2016
Mason & Dixon is a novel of consummate brilliance on many levels, but especially language; it is simply one of the great masterpieces of English prose. Ever.

Like this:

"Does Britannia, when she sleeps, dream? Is America her dream?---in which all that cannot pass in the metropolitan Wakefulness is allow'd Expression away in the restless Slumber of these Provinces and on West-ward, wherever 'tis not yet mapped, nor written down, nor ever, by the majority of Mankind, seen,---serving as a very Rubbish-Tip for subjunctive Hopes, for all that may yet be true,---Earthly Paradise, Fountain of Youth, Realms of Prester John, Christ's Kingdom, ever behind the sunset, safe till the next Territory to the West be seen and recorded, measur'd and tied in, back into the Net-Work of Points already known, that slowly triangulates its Way into the Continent, changing all from subjunctive to declarative, reducing Possibilities to Simplicities that serve the ends of Governments,---winning away from the realm of the Sacred, its Borderlands one by one, and assuming them unto the bare mortal World that is our home and our Despair."

"Some mornings they awake and can believe that they traverse an Eden, unbearably fair in the Dawn, squandering all its Beauty, day after day unseen, bearing them fruits, presenting them Game, bringing them a fugitive moment of Peace,- how, for days at a time, can they not, dizzy with it, believe themselves pass'd permanently into Dream...?"

"There is a fragility about Dixon now, a softer way of reflecting light, such that Mason must accordingly grow gentle with him. No child has yet summon'd from him such care."

As you can see, this is nearer poetry than prose, and it seems almost preternatural that anyone could write at this level for 773 pages, but Thomas Pynchon does.

If you revere, in Pynchon's own words, " ...this English idiom we are blessed to have inherited..." I think you'll treasure Mason & Dixon .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2017
Excellent service, as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2017
Dreadful writing style, some kind of faux olde englishe which spoils a good story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2017
Great book great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Not great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2013
This meticulously researched and crafted epic is a unique mix of serious historical novel, "bromance", and a series of surreal Pythonesque sketches involving a talking dog, a mechanical duck and giant vegetables. It is full of laugh-out-loud moments, sweeping historical set-pieces and touching human interest. But it is a difficult read. Written in idiomatic 18th century style (the prose as well as the dialogue), full of verbose asides and often branching out into post-modernism and magical realism it can be very difficult to follow at times. The experience is similar to reading a difficult book in a foreign language which you speak well without being completely fluent. Here is some sample prose to illustrate what I mean...'In the Hold were hundreds of Lamb carcasses,- once a sure occasion for Resentment prolong'd, now accepted as part of a Day inflicted by Fate, ever darkening,- exil'd to which, he must, in ways unnam'd,-perhaps, this late, unable to include "simply,"-persist.'
In short I'm very glad I read it and I'm very glad I've finished it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2017
I remember buying my first cooy, hardback the day it was published in New York. Started reading on the flight home and got lost and entangled in the twiists and turns but wound up hooked and fascinated. All these years later having been through the paperback edition and nkw the kindle I am enthralled hooked and fascinated. I have always enjoyed books that require me to work and this was the long way in but woukdnt have missed it for anything. A beautiful masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 1999
A mechanical duck, a talking dog, trigonometry, flying along lay-lines, an ear that hears all, real history and total fantasy all rolled into one. Written in an unusual style of almost phonetic 18th Century English, with totally irregular capitalisation, this is far from a light read in more ways than one as it is also over 700 pages long. Follow the adventures of Mason and Dixon as they carve a line across America and into history. Pynchon has mixed real events, folk-lore, real and imaginary people into a novel that I will have to read again to fully appreciate. Very very funny at times, totally perplexing at others but always crying out for you to read just one more page before you put it down for the night. If you are looking for a book that you actually have to read, rather than just look at the words, then this could just be it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2007
In the search for the mythical "Great American Novel", too many are guilty of forming their idea of what this should be before reading any of the contending texts. Hence, the likes of Don De Lillo, Saul Bellow, Philip Roth and John Updike are those most often mentioned in this context. The assumption is that the beast should deal with twentieth century material - the America of skyscrapers, mass immigration, tenement buildings and baseball.

However, what better way of getting to the soul of a country than an exploration of the initial conditions at that nation's birth? Thomas Pynchon obviously agreed and came up with a kaleidoscopic overview of America in the womb.

Over 700 pages of the most impressive prose imaginable, Pynchon takes us on a tour of eighteenth century America, with doses of South Africa, the UK and St. Helena thrown in. But this isn't just an academic exercise designed to create dazzling prose, this is a touching novel with larger than life characters and a big heart - a human novel that emphasizes decency, open-mindedness and human frailty.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2015
couldn't get into it at all - the only book I have never finished - believe me, I did try...
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

V.
£9.99
Inherent Vice
£9.99
Mason und Dixon.
£8.86

Need customer service? Click here