Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2015
This is another good work by John Pilger.
Sadly, the startling truths that he continues to unveil for us are not so much being suppressed as they are being ignored. Wake up world!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2008
This book should be read with Pilger's "The New Rulers of the World", and they will change your world-view forever. He author lifts the veil off international politics and shows how we in the West have systematically been lied to by our leaders. The heartlessness and the tragic consequences of their decisions will shock you. Where global ambitions and national interests are concerned, morality has no place. The week I spent reading these book brought on a spell of insomnia, I was so shocked.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2016
Pilger's insights in world affairs help me understand more about the hidden motives of western powers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
WORLD CLASS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
...especially now. Pilger can almost seem foolish with his blind ambition to prove that the western "civilised" world is the bad guy in modern politics but, by God, is this compelling reading?
Yes. Ultimately what you realise, whilst wrapped up in your cosy life, unknowing of the injustice and hatred that is meted out to the under class, the "forgotted people" of the world, in both the so called third world and even on our own doorstep, is real and happening. Happening every day of our existance on this planet.
Wake up. Read Pilger, read Chomsky. Learn about life. Not just your own or your family's or your neighbour's, but of the murdered and disenfranchised peoples of the planet that might not have a voice if is wasn't for such insightful journalism.
Don't go through life in a propaganda induced wave, but question what is going on and why.
These are truths about how your your tax dollars are spent, paying for global murder and genocide on a scale that sickens and shocks.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
One of our very best writers/journalists. Should be studied in school by anyone interested in history or current affairs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
If you want to know more about the world we live in, (since Sept 11th, this couldnt be more vital) and think about world events with a conscience, rather than infantile good vs evil arguments, then this must be your first step. This comes at a price, for the sheer enormity of the facts being imparted leave you feeling helpless. I always knew that politicians lie, the media lies, but I was not prepared at the extent at which they do it. If you are content to be spoon-fed opinions, and think that news should concentrate more on soap operas and the cult of "celebrity", then stay away. Pilger writes with great admiration for battered people who have been deemed the enemy for the purposes of the history books, written by the powerful. I dont know how Pilger doesnt despair at the evil he has uncovered, but its a credit to him that he has documented it, and I am grateful to him that he has.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2000
With each page, new layers of truth are revealed. I challenge anyone to look at the world in the same way once you have read "Hidden Agendas."
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
A superb read overall. John really spills the beans on unscrupulous western governments and their worse than dodgy interference in poor countries and shoddy gutter minded business people, such as Rupert Murdoch; I must remember to cancel my Sky account when my contract expires!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
"We are told that the poor are grateful for charity. Some of them are, no doubt, but the best among the poor are never grateful. They are ungrateful, disobediant and rebellious. They are quite right to be so. Disobedience, in the eyes of anyone who has read history, is man's original virtue" Oscar Wilde.

One of the truely great journalistic accounts detailing the 'hidden histories' of the dispossessed and powerless characterised by the new age of global interventionism.
From Australia to Burma; East Timor to Diego Garcia, John Pilger provides a stunning critique of our 'media age' of modernisation and globalisation, providing a voice for the "Unpeople" seldom if ever heard before.
It's difficult to pick a particular chapter over any other but the chapter Pilger writes about Rupert Murdoch "A Cultural Chernobyl" should certainly be obligatory reading for any media and politics students and provides a chilling account of just how far and how quick this shabby little government were happy to deregulate, deregulate, deregulate and hop into bed with Murdoch's equally shabby little media empire.
There is also much analysis of Foreign policy at work; the human rights abuses, destabiliisations of legitimate elected bodies, sponsorship of terrorism, malfeasance and barbarity. The central tenet of this book is the exposing of 'power, propaganda and censorship' the 'hidden agendas' which exist whilst also providing a platform for those who have the courage, tenacity and unbreakable resolve to fight the oppressors.
Outstanding and inspiring journalism.
We resist to win!
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)