Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 30 October 2017
Every child should have one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2004
It's 'hibernation time' for the hedgehogs, but one decides to set out on an adventure to find out about the wonders of winter for himself.
When the snow begins to fall, he finds that winter can be both beautiful and maybe not so much fun to be out and about in after all!
Great story for young children, with a happy ending!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2005
Mini treasures are excellent! They fit in a pocket and can be left at the bottom of a handbag for emergencies - as essential as a dummy! This one in particular has become an instant hit. The gentle story is easily read, and the pictures are simple but effective. I may need to buy the bigger version of this book now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2002
This small, pocket-sized book is not lacking anything due to its size. It contains a story that takes you on a rollercoaster of emotion: hope, fear, anxiety, happiness and many more.
On the surface it is merely a story of a young hodgeheg who decides not to hibernate this winter and his adventures during this period. Between the lines however, one can discern a clear theme of following your own path, doing what feels right for you, regardless of peer pressure. A crucial message indeed.
I was disappointed at the ending, as I felt that it would have been better for the hodgeheg to have found a diffenent answer than what is presented but I suppose the conclusion of a person's self-exploration is the responsibility of the person (or hodgeheg) involved.
What matters most though is that this book exists - a book for children (and adult fans!) that encourages them to do what they wish to, to dream and hope and teaches that sometimes the only way to learn is to go against what is expected and to follow where your heart leads.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2010
Bought for someone who loves childrens illustration and hedgehogs.

A lovely story, and a lovely little book. Good illustrations too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2015
purchased for my daughter as it was listed on her reading list from school. was a little disappointed at how short it was, I'm sure i would've found a combined book of stories with this if i had searched a little more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2008
I absolutely adored this book as a child; it was my second favourite book (My first being a book called `Witches Four' by Marc Brown) which I reread over and over. The Winter Hedgehog is a charming little story/animal fable about a rebellious little hedgehog who defies his natural instinct of hibernation and ventures on a journey to `find winter'. This is a definite must read for anyone looking to buy stories to entertain their children and teach them applicable morals for human behavious at the same time. It's also teaches them that despite their anxiousness to go out and experience life for themselves, not to discard the advice of a mother for she usually knows best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2014
Very sweet little book, pretty illustrations. Nice for little readers to hold, easy to slip into a pocket or bag for a journey or night away.
Just wondered since when hares lived in burrows though....!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2014
Great to have an old favourite back on the shelf. A really good book for early years at school. Arrived promptly and in good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2013
Bought for my 5 year old. She loved the illustrations and the story of the little hedgehog who wouldn't go to sleep for the winter.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse