Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2001
Kiberd's book 'Inventing Ireland' is an examination of how the conception of Ireland and Irishness is reached. What are its components and how are they determined? In addressing this, Kiberd takes the reader on a tour of literary and cultural Ireland. He investigates the affect of colonialisation on Ireland and how Britain still impacts on Irishness. In this discussion he includes the experiences of expatriates in Britain who, he argues, have to 'don the mask of Paddy' in order to be acceptable as really Irish for a British public. Kiberd's argument that the inventors of Ireland are the Irish in Ireland, the Irish diaspora and the British is a stimulating approach which draws on the traditions of Fanon, du Bois and Memmi.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Fascinating and informative intertwining of history and literature. Might have benefitted from some judicious pruning of repetitions as well as some tightening of the structure but the content is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
So easy to read, so entertaining, I found it hard to grasp how the author made such a wide ranging subject almost jump off the page. Great stuff for the student or anyone interested in Ireland past and present.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
Recommended by my dissertation supervisor. I found it very easy and engaging to read, without the accuracy and depth being compromised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Great book...great theories which have spread...great to find the origin of those.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2015
Brilliant examination of modern Irish literature!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
Informative book and excellent delivery service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I'd really recommend this book to anyone studying Ireland - especially from the point of literature. It's my constant companion when writing essays or articles on Irish culture/hiltory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2004
Good book, good information. But, as a general reader, I find it a bit too full. I would prefer some illustrations, pictures but there are none. I'm still ploughing through it occasionally when the notion takes me. But, its probably not a book I will ever actually get finished!! One for the academics, who will probably get their information from other sources rather than all in the one book!! If you've all the time in the world for reading and nothing else to do, then this one is for you!! But, Declan Kibberd is a good writer and what I have read was very interesting!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
Great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse