Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
298
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 February 2013
Simon Kernick's short story becomes a living hell for two couples on a getaway break from their usual routine of work and play into the 'middle of nowhere' in a Scottish lodge. A chance encounter with a naked runaway has dire consequences for all. This is a genuinely fast, chilling and frightening account of the fate befalling the innocent parties involved. Neat twist at the end. Only gripe is it ended when it did. Excellent addition to the Quick Read line and the author's writings.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 February 2013
This is a short and gripping read about two couples on a walking holiday in Scotland. The story follows the horrific events that occur after they come across a terrified girl and try to help her.
This is a fast paced thriller and the tension turns up a notch with every page.
Thoroughly enjoyable and very satisfying read.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Wow! Totally loved every minute of this book. This was a thrilling, very fast paced, very edge of your seat kinda book and I enjoyed it immensely. Although, It did feel like my heart was in my throat 2\3 of the way through it! The ending though, god damn it, I hate it when baddies get away with it! And I was so hoping ash would survive after all she went through... A tough ending to swallow, but totally get that's what the author set out to do and how he makes me, the reader, feel about an ending like that?.. Well, that just Means a job very well done indeed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
Gripping. Very well written. Its like a precis writting but not missing out on the quality. Quick Reads is awesome for a busy life. Doesn't take long to finish a book and keeps the buzz on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
great book , sad at the end , get some hanky's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
holiday read not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2016
five stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Super book. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I just love any book by Simon Kernick and this certainly did not disappoint. Quite a scary book and a scary ending.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
wish this book had been longer lol .very good writer ,couldnt out this down really enjoyable ,not quite as good as what i usually buy but very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse