Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
99
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 September 2012
I have read many books about King Edward and this had several interesting bits
I had not heard before. It is very easy to read, and in the end one wonders how he had time for
his Royal duties as his Private life was so full.

No doubt the very strict childhood was miserable and he rebelled against it. He seems to have been kind
and all Europe knew of his excellent manners in public at least. He did much more than he has been given
credit for, by bringing the Monarchy into the modern World and he believed that the King should be seen
and above all be a King for "All" his people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I was very impressed by this well researched and thoughtful biography of a an inetrsting subject and the era in which he lived. I would certainly recommend it to anybody who is a student of that period.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
I enjoyed Jane Ridley's writing style and valued her insights based on meticulous research and access to previously untapped resources. Particularly interesting perspective on Bertie's marriage and reign.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
The prison of royalty is well described by Jane Ridley; the claustrophobia, the loveless vacuum, the the primitive ceremony of it all. Her research is immaculate and admirable but inevitably her subject is repetitive in behaviour; 'Edward the Caresser' is predictable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 December 2012
I would imagine that if you ever think about Edward VII the immediate reaction would be 'oh yes, Lily Langtry, lots of mistresses, he was a bit of a lad and useless as a King' and this has sadly been the case for some time. I have read a lot of Victorian and Edwardian history as I find this period fascinating, and have always felt that poor old Bertie was given a bit of a hard time. I remember reading a biography by Philip Magnus many moons ago and very little since, though it is impossible to read any book about Queen Victoria without Bertie popping up, usually to his detriment.

What a dreadful childhood Bertie had and how cruelly he was treated by his parents, and particularly his mother, as he failed to live up to their ideal of what a prince should be. Constantly Bertiecompared to the precocious Vicky, he resorted to attention seeking tantrums and bad behaviour and instead of understanding why he was doing this, his parents increased the pressure upon him. Not a minute of his day was given up to relaxation or play, his nose was at the grindstone from early in the morning to last thing at night, not a moment unsupervised as a brutal regime of lessons, exercise and whippings were forced upon him.

Of course as soon as he was old enough to spread his wings and have a bit of fun, he did. Losing his virginity to a young and willing lady, was to be expected but the way his parents reacted you would have thought he had committed murder. Albert posted down to see him at Cambridge where he was supposed to be studying and talked to his son about his behaviour. He left behind him a contrite young man who was probably ridden by guilt at the sorrow he had caused his father. I have no doubt Albert laid it on pretty thick. By the time Albert returned home he was soaked through from the walk in the rain and exhausted. He was already ill and when he died shortly after his mother laid the blame for his demise at Bertie's door and if it wasn't for his sister Alice sending him a telegram to come to his father's deathbed, he would have been in ignorance of what was happening.

The years of Victoria's widowhood and seclusion then began and also her pathological dislike of her son and her denying him access to any state papers or details of the working of the government. Ministers tried in vain to make her change her mind but she was adamant that Bertie was throughly unprincipled and too stupid to understand such matters. The truth of the matter was that Bertie was not stupid. He may not have been book learned (it seems he never read a book in his life and after his childhood one can hardly blame him), but he had a retentive memory, never forgot a name or a face (a useful accomplishment if you are a member of the Royal Family) and knew how to deal with all around him. Dragooned into an early marriage to Alexandra of Denmark, they set about entering society and making a splash and soon the Marlborough House Set was the place to be.

It is forgotten that in all the articles and publications about Bertie's scandals and his mistresses, it was largely due to him that the Monarchy kept a high profile and survived. Victoria was locked away either at Balmoral or Osborne House, refusing to see anybody and carry out any duties and it was left to Bertie to carry the flag. And of course, it is rather ironic that Her Majesty pretty quick to condemn her son for becoming involved in scandal and gossip, should cause one of the biggest scandals herself - the rumours flying around about her and John Brown have still not been satisfactorily resolved to this day.

There were moments of rapprochment and there are letters in which the Queen refers to Bertie as 'loving' and 'kind' but these did not last long though when she died in 1901 it was Bertie she wanted at her side.

"Mrs Tuck the Queen's dresser asked her if it was the Prince of Wales she wanted. 'Yes' said the Queen. Bertie returned to her bedside and she said 'kiss my face' whereupon he 'embraced her and broke down completely'.

An overweight, unhealthy middle aged man was now King and Edward felt it had come too late but he underestimated himself, as did others. His years of travelling abroad, his contacts with all the royal families of Europe, most of whom were his relations, enabled him to carry out diplomatic missions which his ministers were unable to do. Keeping his nephew the Kaiser under control was tricky but he managed it while he was alive by a mixture of buttering him up and being as polite to him as he could manage, though in private his feelings were unprintable. He was responsible for the entente cordiale in 1904 (there are some of us who may feel this is not something he should be praised for............) and, despite his past and his ups and downs with the public, he was loved and appreciated as Edward VII. He only had ten years on the throne and he worked almost up to the last minute driven to work and to try and keep the fragile peace, propped up in his chair, until he eventually had a heart attack and was put to bed.

Odd, as the author pointed out in a most interesting appendix, that Victoria who was so intent on being private and secluded, should produce thousands of letters, copious diaries and published her Highland Journals during her lifetime, whereas the public Bertie hardly left anything behind at all. We are given the impression that he was hedonstic, light hearted and light minded and a rather shallow and mediocre person. This marvellous biography shows that we could not be more wrong. He could be hard and cut those who he felt had harmed or offended him, but to his true friends he was loyalty itself, a kindly father who loved his children and though a dreadful husband in some ways, he was devoted to Alexandra as she to him, and she was devestated at his death.

In her introduction to this book, Jane Ridley says that she has tried to show a Bertie who was more able and more complex that the figure we know as Edward VII. She points out that his bed hopping exploits were wildly exaggerated; his name was linked with fifty women and more than ten illegitimate children were chalked up to him though the true figures, were more modest. In order to show both sides of his life she said she has had to 'chip away at the patina of old anecdotes and peel back layer sof hearsayw hich has been repeated so often that it has almost hardened into fact'. It took a while but the author says 'like so many woman in the past, I have greatly enjoyed the years I have spent in the comany of HRH'.

And so have I.

A marvellous, fascinating and readable biography which I read solidly for three days and was enthralled by. I doubt it will ever be bettered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
I found this book interesting and very factual. It gave a real insight into the life of Edward VII, also his relations with his wide ranging and diverse family across the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Nothing new revealled about the man, his life or his reign but somehow the way it is presented makes it well worth reading as it adds a new perspective to this complex man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
This must rank as the definitive biography of Edward V11 and places him firmly in the context of his time both in terms of the monarchy and the politics of the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
i did not have any thoughts about this king
after reading his story i think he was a nice man
just had a bad childhood not a good mum dad not much better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
Marvellous book and a more than worthy successor to Sir Philip Magnus' great work half a century ago . Dr Ridley's wicked sense of humour keeps shining through !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse