Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2012
Vulliamy writes reasonably well, if somewhat prolix in places. The book has litle continuity and what there is disappears the longer the book goes on. Its subject matter, is, however quite disturbing and the horrors of the conflict are vividly brought out. The dreadful detention camps are a case in point, with former Serb neighbours engaged in a spree of sadistic violence and murder. The escapes and then repatriations are interesting, but it is here where there is a weakness of analysis. Sure, the war goes on in a fashion, but the tale is told only from one side. It would have been useful to find more 'honest' Serbs. One was left without a full understanding of how these events are directing life today in former Yugoslavia.
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
This is a must read for anyone with an interest in the tragedy of the wars in FY. It contains harrowing stories and humbling post conflict stories. The saddest/scariest feeling I have after reading this is that it could happen all over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
This is a very important and still timely book as it is coming up to the 20th anniversary of the Dayton talks that ended the war. The book largely follows up on the aftermath of the forced deportation and depopulation of the Bosnian Muslims and in particular the rape torture and murder that went on at the Omarska camps. What is shocking is not just what occurred (revealed by the author when he was an ITN journalist) but also what happened afterwards. The limitations of the international tribunal system are considered as are the experiences of Bosnian refugees in the UK and elsewhere. The book also reveals the shocking denial that any of these events ever occurred, by people in Serbia and Republic Srypska but also by people who should know better such as Harold pinter and Noam Chomsky. One of the ongoing traumas arising from this civil war is the inability for people to raise memorials to the dead in the sites where they were killed. Perhaps this well written and important book functions as a memorial to a degree.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2012
I haven't read this yet, but Vulliamy's account of the unfolding of the Bosnian tragedy (Seasons in Hell) is arguably the definitive narrative of the early years of the war. Measured, penetrating and utterly compelling, it is a must read for any serious student of this shameful period. I read it - as a young British Army officer in Bosnia in 1994 - and its impact remains as strong today as it first did. I can't wait to read this book, 20 years on from this extraordinarily tragic period in modern history.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
Great journalist great book other sides broke geneva convention too not just bosnian serbs. Though they were the worst! Nationalism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
This is interesting and alas not for the first totally biased book saying every muslim was a jvictim and every serb an animal . The west yet again rightly look at atrocities by the serbs and croats but lets level the field .
There are 3 authors michael parenti an american (so unbiased I would say) whose book "how to kill a nation "is a good read he studied at yale by the way . John schindlers brilliant book "unholy war" schindler by the way was a former NSA agent so again pretty unbiased as we know .then lastly a book by Milenko milanovic called"Slow dying" about a prison camp for serbs civilians written in whilst incarcerated
I wonder if mr oric who ransacked at least 150 villages and murdered not personally of course up to 6000 serbs in the srebrenica area is mentioned or the infamous "doves"a bosnian paramilitary outfit commisioned with blessing by izetbegovic himself to murder innocent serbs is ever mentioned
Mujahadin terrorists who went on a killing spree beheading and torturing christians .does that sound familliar ? .Tusla where unarmed soldiers many young conscripts were pulling out of the town massacred by snipers and rockets . I could go on but the truth is out there
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
As expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Great book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
I was hoping to expand my knowledge of the complexities of this period of historyThe Financial Times review fooled me into thinking this book would provide it.
Example page xxviii .Serbis in Croatia responded....by throwing up a series of checkpoints=IT WAS SURREAL TO WATCH [My capitals] The page526 padding and prose indicates why this book is so boringly long.
I only have a couple of thousand military history books. This one will be well hidden.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse