Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
Monte Cassino: Ten Armies in Hell
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 31 January 2017
A superb book. Amazing military and strategic detail and yet still manages to bring the human element of the conflict to the fore with his focus on the big personalities and the many cultures involved at Cassino. First and foremost this is a brilliant operational chronology but by the end the reader feels a great empathy with the soldiers who made such huge sacrifices on all sides. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2016
Wanted to read up about my Grandfathers WWII experiences, and this was a good read to this particular conflict
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
Excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2018
Eliminates the received "wisdom" that Italy was a push-over after the N.African successes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2015
Have visited Monte Cassino this is an interesting history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2014
Excellent and comprehensive analysis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2013
Monte Cassino: Ten Armies in Hell
Bought it for my father, a little tedious in placed though, but very accurate.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2014
There are a lot of facts in this book and if you are interested in WWII this is the book to read. Very interesting for me as my dad fought there with the Polish Army.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 November 2014
A most readable account and helpfully with the aftermath up the Liri Valley to Rome in May/June 1944. However there is an absence of clear and large scale maps so that following the various attacks/counters by the combatants is not easy, maybe a future edition could remedy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2012
I had looked forward to reading this book very much. A friend of mine knows the author and has been on a Battlefield tour to Cassino with him. The author was doing a very convincing job of building up to the battle itself by highlighting the various armies that would fight in the battle. Unfortunately I arrived at page 80 to find that the text jumped to page 237!. Pages 81-112 were missing from the book completely. Pages 237 onwards were then repeated later in the book. This is not the authors fault and having had my appetite whet I will obtain another copy of what promises to be an excellent book,and continue from where I left off.I will review this review once I have read the book completely. I publish this article merely to ask if any other readers have experienced a similiar problem of purchasing a book with a clear printing error. One wonders how many have slipped through the system.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)