Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
767
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
Fast paced, short, very well written. Rather less climactic than I anticipated but I kinda liked that. Not absolutely totally convinced I "got it".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
I have read this novella three times now, with gaps of a few years between each go, most recently before I see the film (and this time I pictured the film's cast as the characters as I read). I still can't quite get a handle on the ending and hope the filmmakers' interpretation will help. It's a compulsive read and I'll probably read it again at some point. I definitely get more out of it each time.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Another brilliant novel from Julian Barnes. I hope the film adaptation does it justice!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
Absolutely beautiful book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
Excellent book. I have just read it for the second time and I must confess that I had forgotten nearly all of it. I am not sure I really 'get' it even now but hope that the film might help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2016
An amazing book that is gripping to the point that couldn't believe I was on the last page ! Loved it,magic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Gulped it down like a gourmet meal. Not a wasted word. Interesting story. Highly recommended - it won't disappoint. Not sure if I want to see the film now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
The tension in this intriguing story is cleverly provided throughout the novel.
The "unreliable" narrator" requires the reader to think about the events in the story - or even question them.
A very beautifully written novel - that is the most important pleasure you get from reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Found it boring in parts. Maybe the film will be better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
I enjoyed this immensely. Lot of nostalgia and quite sad. Slightly different from film. Always enjoy Julian Barnes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here