Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2013
There is enough here to keep you turning the pages to find out what happens next.
And there is a terrific ending - unexpected? Well that depends...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Perfect condition. Superbly written text. Moving, clever and extremely useful to use and quote in the academic essay I am writing for my OU course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2012
Oh, I loved this beautifully written book, and it has the most unexpected ending. I loved every page. Would definitely recommend, and have done so!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Very well written, excellent but not a cheery read, quite bleak & depressing at times but wonderfuly self reflective and insightful of human emotion,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
It's a while since I read a book this satisfying. Cleverly structured and beautifully written. The final pages haunt the reader for days afterwards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2011
This is a beautifully written short book about memory, the passing of time, misunderstandings and assumptions. I had heard some of it on the radio 4, enough to want to read the book, but fortunately not enough to give away the ending. This book starts as an apparently simple story of four friends, who go their separate ways after leaving school. This is such a short story that it would spoil it in this review to give away too much of the what happens, but just to say that the book reflects back on two friends, one girlfriend and one mother and reconsiders the memory of times past in order to understand the present. This hardback edition with its black page endings, is beautiful to hold, if not for long.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Short but perfectly formed. Beautifully written, from the ambiguous title to the ending itself. There are genuine surprises in the plot throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Poor story, too much reference to "self gratification" and a weak ending, given the title. Ironic really. Don't waste your time reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Would definitely recommend to others. Kept me reading late at night. Great storyline and great ending. Now looking at buying more from same author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Mmmm. Not sure I enjoyed this. The story rushed through detail until half way then became interesting then just stopped. Not many positives to say
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here