Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
140
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2017
A good read, a little light reading for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
A compelling read _ Jo Marie has with her late husband beside her all the way opened roe harbour inn and it quickly becomes a property that welcomes and comforts people!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2014
story ok,bit drawn out, strong American accent takes a bit of getting used to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
Not read yet for my holiday next month. New author not read her books before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2012
I have become completely addicted to Debbie Macomber's Cedar Cove series, and although this isn't one of them, it is set there, and that's good enough for me. I was so pleased to see some of the old characters appear briefly to interact with the new. They are like old friends, so it was good to catch up with them again.
This book is a little different in several ways to the Cedar Cove series. First of all, the main character, the owner of the B&B, is the narrator, so we see some of the story through her eyes. The other thing is that there is a lot of sadness in this book. Debbie Macomber has recently lost a son, and I'm sure that this will have had a profound effect on her writing.. The B&B owner is a war widow, and both of her guests are suffering from the loss of people close to them. But it is not a sad book. Ultimately there is healing, and I felt that it was a very uplifting book.
Debbie Macomber's books are so enjoyable, and so addictive that I feel a bit sad that I've finished it. She is a wonderful writer, and I'm so pleased that I discovered her books. They are not literary or pretentious in any way, but are always a very good read. This new series looks as though it's going to be just as good as the others, and I hope it won't be too long until the next one comes out.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
Although The Inn at Rose Harbor is set in Cedar Cove this is not part of the Cedar Cove series but the the first book in her new Rose Harbor series.

At the Rose Harbor Inn we meet Jo Marie who has decided she needs a fresh start so she has bought the bed and breakfast inn in picturesque Cedar Cove. Both of her first guests though are reluctant returnees to Cedar Cove and both hope to get through their stay as quick as possible and then leave...

Josh has not returned to Cedar Cove since his stepfather Richard kicked him out shortly after the death of his mother. When Josh is contacted to advise that Richard is dying he returns to retrieve a few of his own and his mother's possessions but he knows he won't be welcomed with open arms by Richard.

Meanwhile Abby has to overcome the demons that haunt her about the terrible accident that killed her best friend Angela when they were teenagers. She's not been back to Cedar Cove for over ten years but as her brother has chosen to get married there it's something she's going to have to face.

It was nice to see a few of the old Cedar Cove characters make brief appearances throughout the book but the main emphasis was on the three main characters, Jo Marie, Josh and Abby. Between the three of them there is a lot of sadness as they're having to cope with death, grief and guilt and a lot of healing is needed to enable them to look forward to the future.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
I was a little sceptical that this would be another 're-cap' of previous stories, but this was very enjoyable with just enough old characters popping in to give a feeling of knowing the area in which it is set. I was left wanting more, and look forward to the follow up books. Good light reading as always.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Inn at Rose Harbor is the first book (apart from the prequel eShort, When First They Met) in the Rose Harbor series by popular American author, Debbie Macomber. This is a new series but is set in Cedar Cove, Washington, so fans of the long-running Cedar Cove series will be pleased at occasional glimpses and cameo appearances of characters from that series. Jo Marie Rose is a young widow who has bought a B&B in Cedar Cove, a move she is hoping will help her heal from the loss of her husband, Paul. Her first guests are people who also need healing: Abby Kincaid is a guilt-ridden young woman who fled Cedar Cove fifteen years ago after being the driver in a car accident that killed her best friend; Josh Weaver has returned to Cedar Cove to tend his ailing step-father, the same man who kicked him out of his home after his mother died. Macomber is the queen of feelgood and manages to organise forgiveness, reconciliation and true love for both Abby and Josh over the course of three days. It seems that Jo Marie's healing is advancing too. Olivia Griffin, Grace Harding, Corrie McAfee and Peggy Beldon make appearances, as do a few spirits, a dubious character looking for a handout, a cranky handyman and a dog named Rover. Macomber sets up the next book in the series, Rose Harbor in Bloom, by having Jo Marie take bookings for the next two guests, and also includes a couple of knitting patterns. Sweet and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
This is a lovely extension of the Cedar Cove books. The characters are interesting and their stories unfold naturally as the book goes on. I loved the way some characters from the previous Cedar Cove books "dropped in" on the story, like old friends. Classic Debbie Macomber.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
As usual Debbie Macomber draws you in to the residents of Cedar Cove and their lives. Once you start, you want to keep reading until you have to put the book down to go to work or go to sleep. She has a habit of getting you hooked on people's lives that you feel you are watching their joys and tears and the intermingling of people she writes about. This is the fourth book of hers I have read and I have enjoyed every single one so far, and will purchase the others over time. You can loose yourself into the pages and feel you are there - that is what I look for in a writer to make you feel you are actually in the place she describes that you want to be there at every turn of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse