Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
75
4.2 out of 5 stars
The Dogs Of War
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 August 2017
Excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
what else can you expect from a brilliant author, well worth the time to read and experience the world of big business and mercenaries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 August 2010
Forsyth's reputation of in depth research was more or less founded with this book. It came as a fictionalised version of, and utilising most of the research that went into The Biafra Story: The Making of an African Legend. This explains the author's uncanny knowledge of arms trading and smuggling as well as of outside financed mercenary expeditions - it would in some way be a shame not to use the knowledge in a novel afterwards. The Biafra Story: The Making of an African Legend, while excellent, was never likely to draw as wide a readership.

I agree with the other reviewers that most of the book gets dedicated to the in depth planning and organising of the operation and that the 'action' bit is relatively brief towards the end. Without revelaing too much, the ending does come with an interesting twist - again very much a result of what the author would have hoped for in the case of the original Biafra situation. For pure suspense and gripping action this book scores about average.

On the other hand it has a strong normative political message, which is an added bonus and for someone who likes their novels meticulously researched rather than off the cuff this is still a gem.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Still the best mercenary novel ever. The film based on the book was an insult. Read it a few times now over the years It's still way ahead of anything else in the genre.
The Wild Geese is probably the second greatest mercenary novel but I think the film adapted from that is better than the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
Regret have not had time to read this yet, but because it is written by Frederick Forsyth I know it will be good. All his books are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2003
It was after I had read the book that I saw that film was going to be on television and decided to stay up until stupid o'clock in the morning. If there was ever a stupid idea, and has made me wary of Christopher Walken ever since.
If unlike me, you saw the film first and have since decided that the storyline is nothing to write home about then you need to pick up the book. Right from the outset you become close to Cat Shannon, a mercenary and a leader, and his rag tag army of specialists.
Its the traditonal setup with the heavy weapons guy being 7 feet tall and the silent assassin being a small withdrawn man. But you feel for them despite their existance relying on war and as your drawn into the world of backhanders and clandestine meetings you'll soon realise that several hours have passed.
Frederick Forsyth is very good with the english language, but it's the lengths that he goes to to research the book and it is evident that he knows more about the underworld than he should.
I have read this book twice and enjoyed it thoroughly both times although I wouldn't say it was as good as "The Negotiator" or "The Devil's Alternative", both by the same author.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
It's weird... some thrillers you read date badly. Others, not so much. Examples of books that date badly include pretty much anything by Robert Ludlum. I've yet to read any of his books that don't feel... of their time. This book, however, is different.

It's about a British mining conglomerate in the 1970s that are thinking about destabilizing a country in Africa (and profiting from the subsequent coop), to get their hands on a potentially profitable mining operation.

It then watches the man who is called in to manage the operation as he goes about his work.

The book was old. It was written in the early 1970s, but it didn't feel old. It rattles along at a good old lick, while giving you the impression you're learning how 1970s mercenaries work at the same time.

It feels a little dated in places (references to Iraq, Facist Spain, and Yugoslavia for example), but all in all it's a good book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I am a big fan of Forsyth's work but this really is one of the worst and most misguided thrillers I have ever read. It is one long shopping list of events that range from the staggeringly dull to the only very mildly interesting. Endless chapters pass as Shannon wanders from one country to the next doing bank transfers. You could easily skip a good eighty percent of this book and not even notice, read the first three to four chapters and then skip to the last few in the reasonable expectation that when a mercenary is hired to do a job he will set about preparing for that job in a normal, logical and straightforward fashion...which he does.
Joyless, dull and thoroughly uninspired.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
If you are looking for a manual on how best to go about a coup d'etat, as I was, this is the smart choice and that's what this book feels like, an in depth explanation of the processes involved, from the seed of greed that instigates the idea to the final execution. Reminded me of journalistic writing however, very informed but at the culmination, lacking that sense of the subjective experience.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
One of the great reads from a master story teller. Even after reading this several times over the years, the first time while on a plane flying down to Southern Africa (Rhodesia). I never felt bored by re-reading this novel but can still immerse myself in it & feel well satisfied when I have come to the end.

I would recommend this book to anyone also it is far, far better than the "Americanized" rubbish that was the film of the same name, a film that I only watched once & was most disappointed with.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Odessa File
£7.04
The Kill List
£6.91
The Shepherd
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here