Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
87
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 March 2015
I really enjoyed this book .well written and it was lovely to see how someone from a poor background could
make it to the top .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
This book was purchased for my husband who has been a fan of his for years.
This arrived before time, just as described.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
I gave my husband '
'What's It All About' for Christmas after reading a copy in the dentist's waiting room and he enjoys reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Great read . Unforgettable read His encounter with Charles Manson is worth buying this autobiography! (He was saved from evil Manson by his best friend Johnny Morris ; who was also my grandmother's cousin..The Manson story was a cautionary family tale.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2003
Written in a language that anyone can understand. Michael Caine dispels the untruths that have been written about him. He lays on the line his heart felt life story from his acting "debut" at the age of three right up to the the "discovery" of his half brother David. It will leave the reader laughing out loud and at times holding back the tears. His account spans an era that most readers will find nostalgic to say the least. How the son of a market fishmonger hob nobbed it with the greats of Hollywood and the British Royalty. If you want to know Michael Caine this is the only book to read, especially if you want to know "what his life was was all about".
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2002
This book is simply amazing. Never before have I laughed so much from what I have read, or been touched by some of the things that Michael Caine has written in this amazing book. The section where he describes the death of his father is particularly touching. This however is an up-lifting book, and it has to be the funniest I've read. Comparisons with Niven are fully justified, and Caine's easy-going persona comes across well wonderfully the printed page.
In short, buy this book. If you're a fan wanting to know the score from the man himself, or if you're simply looking for a truly entertaining read, then this has to be the book for you.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 1998
What's It All About is a terrific read. Caine is both witty and entertaining in the role of raconteur - one which he clearly enjoys. Much like David Niven before him he manages to combine the ordinary facts of his life and experiences with just the right amount of name dropping. Stars parade in and out of his stories but you never lose sight of the real star of the book - nor does he ever lose sight of his origins. You sense that he is still bemused by his own success and still grateful for all he has got. Only pick this book up if you have a little time to spare as I promise you, you won't want to put it down.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2003
Michael Caine is as funny, kind, intelligent and endearing as he is on film. Some of his stories made me howl with laughter. His memories of the making of Zulu (one of my favourite films) was very funny. For a person to fight as he has done throughout his life and career and to still be going strong in top selling films today is truly remarkable. This book simply has to be on everyone's reading list
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
This is a great book. Charting the history of this true Icon's childhood years through to his rise to fame.

I found that this book was a true "page-turner". Michael details his close run thing with fame and introduces a host of colourful characters throughout. I have to say that I can still remember the way he dealt with a "top" Holywood star that was behaving like a spoilt brat - sheer genius.

I haven't read this again in many years but there are so many passages that I can recall vividly. If you haven't read an autobiography and wonder whether to bother read this now. It really is an amazing insight into a genuine star.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
For me this was a fantastic read about a well known down to earth actor.From start to finish it was interesting and funny,I think a film should be made out of this book.I would recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)