Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
195
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2013
It won't much matter to you that this book is set in 1963 and is about a conflict many have never heard of or find hard to understand. The Jackal, and those who seek him form a timeless and "never since" trumped set of icons in the genre of the careful planning assassin, on his own, and the hunt to find him in time.

I have read it many times, and each time it reveals something more to me. The careful analysis from Rolland of the confession, the clever concealment of the weopan. The single minded attention to detail and motivation of the Jackal, the clever and effacing man who hunts for him.

What makes this book not good, but great is the detailled research and the absolute knowledge displayed by the Author of his subject.

A few films were made of this book, one with Edward Fox, and though close to the book, failed because Fox's Jackal was more an "English Gentleman Pussy Cat" to the man described in the book. Then there was the Bruce Willis version, made for American audiences, that threw away the story line, but kept the thread of the single calculating assassin. And to give this film credit, Willis did come close to what the Jackal must have been, though the rest was window dressing and eyewash.

For me Forsyth never wrote a better book than this one and no-one else has touched this theme with such authority since.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
Both the book and the movie are terrific. If you are after a fast-paced thrilling action enhanced by a superb acting, go for the movie. However, if you also want 1) a deeper understanding of the motives that drive the main characters to their actions and 2) a greater appreciation of the role of chance in our lives, go for the book.

If you are interested in both the book and the movie, watch the movie first and then read the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
Frederick Forsyth is such a brilliant writer. His observational and descriptive powers coupled with his writing style should make him compulsory study in schools. And he's so interesting.

The 'faction' style makes it believable and gripping.

My all time favourite novel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2008
After reading this book I almost wanted to read it again because it was so good.
I didnt want to put it down because I wanted to know what was going to happen next.
I recommend this book to anyone that is thinking of buy a Frederick Forsyth book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Forsyth has a knack of mixing fact and fiction this proceeds at a great pace the killer cold and matter of fact from London to Paris one police force aiding another his first and finest novel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
This is a great read, one of the best thrillers ever written. Forsyth writes so well, documenting in gripping detail every twist and turn. A very exciting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
Quite simply the best book ever written by this author. It's grabs you right from the start with the sheer cleverness of the plot and the superb characters that keep the story bounding along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2016
Have read this 27 times and I still love it and will read again...and my son, who is 20, has just red it for the first time. Lucky boy! He has 26 more great reads ahead of him AT LEAST!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
One of the greatest thrillers by the master of suspense. Edge of the seat stuff from start to end Forsyth never fails to keep the reader hooked. A book I could read over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
We all know Fred Forsyth is a good author but in The Day of the Jackal he uses French a lot, sometimes whole conversations without translation,
and I am not very good with French.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.