Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
42
4.3 out of 5 stars
Star Wars Lost Tribe of the Sith: The Collected Stories
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 January 2017
This is a well-written collection of stories about a 'lost tribe' of Sith - consisting of 8 short stories and one lengthier novella, all by author John Miller (who's also written the very good Star Wars: A New Dawn). Each tale is connected, and the adventures are presented in chronological order. The first story is set some 5,000 years prior to destruction of the Death Star by Luke Skywalker. And the final story takes place around 3,000 years before that event. As such, this book focuses of the distant past - as compared to the original Star Wars trilogy of films. Consequentially there's no Darth Vader or Han Solo or Obi-Wan Kenobi. Instead, we enter a remote era when the galaxy was divided between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire.

A starship carrying hundreds of Sith is involved in a hyperspace accident, and is flung across the galaxy - crash landing on an unknown world. Unfortunately no one comes to help ... and the survivors must fend for themselves, with dwindling supplies and very little working technology. Against the odds, some Sith capable to living in the hostile environment they're forced to endure. And, over time, these Sith become masters of this world - cut off from the civilised systems elsewhere in the galaxy.

Each tale was originally released as a short e-book. As they were very popular, they were re-released as a collection - published in print. If you're a fan of Star Wars, and you especially enjoy adventures involving the dark side of the Force, then I highly recommend this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Fantastic collection of short stories about a lost tribe and their efforts to survive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
The first few stories are good, but the quality trails off toward the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
These are nice little stories as far as Sith go. The plot behind this is that a Sith ship called the Omen has crashed on a planet with stone age technology, and very low in Iron ore so Sith crew cannot make repairs to their own Ship effectively stranding them there. As stated this book is a collection of E-books so effectively short stories. 8 Stories on average of 32 pages, then one large one of 133 pages.

The first story is deals with the crash and leader ship of the "tribe". At this point the Sith are more worried about how they are going to be perceived by their current lord Naga Shadow as disappearing with his cargo. The two highest ranking officers realise that they will not get getting off the planet anytime soon. there is a fight for leadership with one dying. As far as Sith go The main character does not seem evil, apart from killing his brother and even that was pretty much self-defence.

The next story is of one of the natives who accidentally come across the stranded Sith. The story fast forwards 25 years the Sith have embedded themselves as the top of society, there is a bit of infighting that is normal for the self-destructive and racist Sith. Then we are taking to the revolution of an insurgence of the lower lords against the grand lord with the natives taking their own side. Then we are taken 1000 years into the future of the Sith are there usual scheming selves. There is an appearance of a member of the Jedi Coven, dedicated to stopping the Sith for returning first seen in the Knights of the Old Republic comics. Who has also crashed on this planet. All these stories lead up to the Sith destroying and restabilising their society, priorities and self-destructive tendencies.

Good stories I am glad i read them before starting the Fate of the Jedi Series as I hate prequels.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
When I first heard they were making a collection of short stories into a full sized novel, I thought "Yes!" This is the sort of thing I'd like them to do with other novellas and comics that are referenced in novels that I wouldn't otherwise read.

I was also looking forward to reading books set so far back in the timeline. The trouble with such short stories is you don't get much depth to the characters. It's all a bit rushed. I found as soon as I started to get a picture in my mind of what was happening, the story ended and I was propelled a thousand years into the future and had to start all over again.

Having said that, all the stories were entertaining in their own right and basically set the groundwork for the events of 5,044 in the future when the events of the Fate of the Jedi series take place. From that point of view, it's worth reading these before embarking on the Fate of the Jedi series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
I'm reading the Star Wars books in time order, and so this was the second book that I read. Although the last three books in the series are actually set after The Old Republic series of novels, due to the story's nature there is no crossover.

The story is really interesting, focusing on a group of Sith miners who find themselves stranded on the planet of Kesh. The books jump forward in time from 25 to 1,000 years, detailing the changing state of the Sith tribe on the planet.

I particularly enjoyed Purgatory and Sentinel which focus on the controversial relationship between Ori Kitai, a Sith High Lord's daughter, and a human slave named Jelph. Unfortunately I lost interest a bit during the next book, Pantheon, set 1,000 years in the future and by which point the tribe's hierarchy structure has fallen into disarray. I felt it picked up a bit during Secrets and the finale, Pandemonium, only ruined in part by the particularly annoying character of Korsin Bentado.

Anyway, in summary certainly worth reading :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I'm a huge fan of the Star Wars Expanded Universe (which may be changing drastically due to Episode 7) If your a fan of stories that revolve around the Jedi and Sith you can't go wrong. These collected stories are great and would recommend to any SW fan.

I would also recommend Fate of the Jedi (the lost tribe ties into the Skywalker story) and all Old Republic books (including Bane Trilogy)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
I really Enjoyed this book, and I can't wait to read the Fate of the Jedi Series which is set at the opposite end of the Timeline, but still ties in.

I read this book in stages, I was having an Old Republic reading marathon, which encompated the Old Republic series of books. This book being a collection of ebook, is set at various points around those books, spreading out over 2000 years. It was great to read it like this and the auther showed remarkably well how the facts can be distorted over a 2000 year period.

Other than the very beginning this book doesn't effect anything in the Old Republic time, so it could be read as a prequel to the Fate of the Jedi Series. I am just sad enough to read it the way I did. For me personally it added to the book, as it took even longer than normal to read.

Anyway. A trully awesome read. Can't wait to get into more of the authers work, and the Fate series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 August 2012
This is not only an interesting book but one that, for me, works pretty as a lost sith ship seeks to survive on a primitive planet. It's different and the usually antagonistic sith have to learn to work together whilst also adding their own unique twists to the situation.

It's definitely something that is different to a lot of other books in the universe and for its uniqueness it has to be one of my favourites as I found that the writing style worked very well for the format, add to this some great twists, an overall arc linking the tales within and of course some kick ass action to keep fans more than happy and all in this book was a real joy. Great stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 September 2013
THE STORY:
(5,000 to 2,975 BBY) A series of novellas (most originally published as separate e-books) which chart the fortunes of a group of Sith who crashland on a remote planet during the Great Hyperspace War and who, over the ensuing decades, centuries and millennia, shape the world around them into their own dark image. This book overall gives a significant background story to the Lost Tribe who go head to head with Luke Skywalker in the 'Fate of the Jedi' novels. There are three main time periods covered; the first (5,000 to 4,975 BBY) chronicles the Sith arrival on Kesh and their struggles to make a new home and society there, the second (3,960 BBY) tells of an unlikely romance amid a golden age for the Sith and the final time period (3,000 to 2,975 BBY) covers a time of chaos amid the Sith society in which it is reborn with new purpose.

WHAT'S GOOD:
Between 'The Old Republic' computer game and the 'Legacy' comics, I was a little frustrated at first by the introduction (in the 'Fate of the Jedi' series) of yet another long-lost/hidden Sith faction at large in the galaxy. However, the stories told here make these Sith unique and uniquely compelling. I genuinely enjoyed reading about characters who have to contend not only with a hostile new world but also with the violence and betrayal that sits at the heart of Sith culture. It is a curious thing when you find yourself thinking of some of these Sith as the heroes of the piece, despite their dark nature. However, I think my favourite element of the entire book was the revelation of Jelph Marridan's past. John Jackson Miller's background as a comic book writer serves him very well in telling these little vignettes of Sith life (unlike the effect it had on his novel 'Knight Errant').

WHAT'S BAD:
Further to the last sentence above, some people have been put off or disappointed by the broken, episodic nature of this book and it's important to understand that it is not a novel but (unsurprisingly) a collection of stories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse