Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Inherent Vice
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 July 2017
Saw the film first and very bored. As a Pynchon fan I thought I would read the book and really enjoyed it flawed in places and it takes a while to get into the dialogue style but a great read as with all his books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
Really good. Better than the film. Which was good but a bit 'meh'. The book was great though - really took you somewhere. Man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2015
Although there isn't the depth of his other work this was most certainly as funny a page turner as you'll find with a healthy dose of the late great Robert Anton Wilson. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2018
Huge fan of Pynchon and IV is imho amongst his premier writing.... Great service from the seller, would 100% recommend to other Amazon custumers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 March 2016
As expected, great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
Fast moving with snappy dialogue. Doc is a well drawn central character
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2015
I could not finish it, I thought it was a bit boring, and wasn't as well written as I thought it would be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2017
Awesome book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
Excellent book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
Most of Thomas Pynchon's novels rank as truly great literature, but in general they are not easy reading - although they certainly reward those who are prepared to make the effort. Inherent Vice is a much easier book to enjoy - and it is very enjoyable, a noir-ish detective romp set in the late 1960s, which keeps you turning pages and is very, very funny in places. One of the nicest features of it is the way that the characters have a real warmth to them - something that Pynchon is often, unfairly in my opinion, criticised for lacking in the heavier works such as V, Gravity's Rainbow and Mason & Dixon. Inherent Vice reminds me a lot of Vineland, which is another really entertaining and easy read, although like Vineland it hasn't found much favour with serious critics. A film of Inherent Vice is in production (not something that could be attempted easily with most Pynchon novels), which should be great, particularly as Paul Thomas Anderson is directing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Mason & Dixon
£10.98
Bleeding Edge
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here