Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
121
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2015
Seriously, this should definitely be on everyone's list of fiction to read - it's that good! The first half goes at a steady pace but the second half is speeds up, so much so that it's hard to put down. It's written in a wonderful way and has made me very much a fan of Tom Wolfe. Now to track down the film - I've heard that it wasn't reviewed very well but I can't resist watching it as a result of the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Loved this book, couldn't put it down. I'm going to New York for the first time in a few months and wanted to read something which would give me a feel for the city. Even though this book is set in the eighties, I think, you feel like you get to know the city; the streets, the areas, the people, the vernacular, some history and the vibe of the place. We meet characters from different ethnic groups uptown, downtown and over in unsavoury Brooklyn who make for a very exciting and colourful story which leaves you with plenty to reflect on as the issues are still very relevant to today.Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2017
Re-read this for the third time and it is still exciting. What men were they!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
I love this book. Having been to New York Tom Wolfe's descriptions of the city make you feel as if you are there - cheaper than the air fare. Do not let the awful film put you off the book which is far, far superior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2015
Read this book a couple of times and I do like it. I lent it out to someone and never saw them or the book again, so this is a replacement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
The Great American Chronicle of Wall Street in the 1980s. Tom Wolfe proves a master at intertwining multiple storylines: a police investigation, Sherman's marital problems, the incestuous relationship between media and the political sphere. Often imitated, never equalled.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2015
most wonderful novel. loved every minute. gets one involved straight away. sorry it ended. it was long but very much worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Only on the first chapter and already love! Vaguely remember watching the film and was pants but this seems brilliantly written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
Tackles multiple questions around the excesses of the city, the rich-poor divide, policing, the court justice system, rights to privacy, journalism etc but in a highly entertaining and readable way with a cracking story in which shows whilst skin can be black or white, the truth is generally a shade of grey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse