Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
95
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2017
A very unusual plot which grabs your interest if you like court room stories. Gives an insight into the dirty tricks that large companies will resort to when their business and profit is threatened. I thoroughly recommend the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2015
Slow read..I found it hard to even get through 10 pages..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2013
Earlyish Grisham who is known to be patchy. Good idea sort of, but characters undeveloped and the sting is a joke - not credible in any way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
A very complicated storyline: dozens of characters. Not my cup of tea at all: very disappointing. No desire to finish reading it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
VG
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2001
I have read 6 of John Grishams novels now and this was a real page turner from the outset. The story centres around a massive court case involving the largest tobacco companies in the world and the lengths they well go to, to secure a verdict in their favour. At times the plot gets weighed down with court precedure but don't let this put you off. The book keeps you gripped right up to the last 50 pages or so when you can pretty much guess the ending. Other than that, a right riveting read!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2012
As an author John Grisham is best when he sticks to the courtroom. Here he is able to bring his experience as a lawyer to the story and supplement the crime mystery. The likes of `A Time to Kill' remain classics, but for every hit, there have been several misses (especially later in his non-courtroom based career). One early misstep was `The Runaway Jury', a book written in the mid-90s and now feels so dated that it is best buried in a time capsule for future generations to dig up and laugh at in the year 2062.

`Runaway' tackles the heavyweight issue of cigarette corporations and whether they are implicit in hooking people on to the killer sticks as teens. In the year 2012, we have already moved on great strides from the mid-90s, so a lot of what is written here seems pretty antiquated. The people in the book talk about quitting smoking, but many of them still light up indoors - old school. Being a novel of its time is not an issue, but being preachy is. Grisham has a clear agenda and let's say he is not a fan of conglomerates.

Once more this is not the biggest issue with the book that is left to a combination of character and structure. The lead character is a cocky failed law student who finds himself on the jury. Grisham specialises in heroes that are slightly annoying, but charismatic - in this case he fails as the lead is straight unpleasant. There is also a major issue with the structure of the book. Essentially, the entire thing is all waffle leading up to the final 30 pages when things actually happen. You could easily condense the story into a short.

With unlikable leads and a cop out structure, `The Runaway Jury' is Grisham's worst early work, but he had further depths to sink (see `Bleachers').
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2010
This is another very good legal thriller. Grisham explores the courtroom from the point of view of the jury this time, and the opposing groups of lawyers as they attempt to influence the jury in their favour. The twist is that someone on the jury wants to influence the lawyers. It's addictive reading and a really interesting plot that I've enjoyed reading.

I read the first half twice, which is something I've never tried before. I lost my copy when I was halfway through, and when I finally bought a replacement, six weeks later, decided to reread from the start so I didn't miss anything. I was really surprised by how easy it was to read again. The first time through I was quite confused about what was going on, but on the second go every fell into place and I understood straight away what the characters were up to.

Grisham keeps the plot developing at a good pace, especially amid events that could quickly become repetitive - given that each day has an identical structure for a lot of the characters. There are however a lot of unnecessary references that are not followed up on, some aspects that are never really explained, and some repetition.

My main criticism is that it ends like every other Grisham novel. It does have a nice little unexpected twist, but ultimately it comes down to the same thing. Is that what Grisham is planning once his writing career has earned him enough money? It's just a little awkward when you know every time how it's going to end.

Overall though the plot is genius, and he manages to keep you guessing on exactly how things are going to turn out right until the end. The whole story does come across a little like an epistle against tobacco, which didn't bug me but to those with differing views it may grate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
simply superb, starts off quite slowly while trying to choose the jury, once the trial gets going you will be amazed at Nicholas Easters skills together with his sidekick.
Truely amazing story, could someday become a non fiction account of a tobacco company's fate at trial.
Dont Miss this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse