Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
No More Dying Then: (A Wexford Case)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 January 2016
Very much in line with the Ruth Rendell series of Inspector Wexford, well worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
good murder mystery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Excellent book had me gripped from the start
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
Most enjoyable next book in the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 6 December 2012
I cannot believe I am the first to review this but being a fan of the television series I wanted to read it and see how they compared. I found this story very good and more of an in depth character picture of Mike Burdon and Reg Wexford seemed to have a smaller role in this book. I could see that both characters had transferred to screen very well keeping many of the traits in the book. Mike's wife Jean had died and he was not coping with the changes this had imposed. The investigation of the death of a girl and the disappearance of a boy take on a personal interest and a love interest that brings Mike into contact with a most alternative lifestyle. Reg relies on Mike and is there to offer sometimes gruff support but most genuinely. Ruth Rendell originally had this published in 1971 and this paper back is easy to read as the print is a good size and to be honest once I started reading I had to get back into it as soon as I could. I will certainly read more of Ruth Rendell's books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
This short(ish) early Wexford novel is a bit of a mixed bag. There is a 'murder mystery' of course but in many ways, that is the least interesting or satisfying thing about this book. What really makes this worth reading is the excellent portrait of Inspector Mike Burden at a crisis point in his life. One gets the impression that Rendell really enjoyed getting her teeth sunk into this juicy, emotional subplot and it works astonishingly well. The characters surrounding Burden are equally well drawn and interesting, the two ladies in his life superbly contrasted. I have to say that until this book, I was not particularly fond of Wexford's subordinate and although he is often unlikeable in this one too, he is ultimately portrayed very sympathetically.

As suggested above, this book could have worked pretty well without the 'murder mystery' which almost becomes a subplot and, to be honest, its not one of Rendell's best. At one point Wexford says he doesn't like co-incidences but there are FAR too many here! Rendell DOES play fair and the clues are all there but this is another of her works (the earlier books are sometimes guilty of this) where the murderer is not given enough space to develop as a real character and I felt slightly cheated. Also, strangely for a book which deals with the murder and disappearance of children, it remains oddly uninvolving in that respect. Stella Rivers was twelve years old but she might as well be twenty two from an 'emotional impact' point of view.

For the mystery alone, this might have scored a 3 or even 2 star but the Burden subplot (which is really the main plot) elevates it to 4 for me. Its a nice foretaste of the best of the standalone thrillers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A typical Wexford read enjoyable to the end, surpised about Mike Burton social life, with a twist in the tail!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Well written Wexford novel with lots of suspense and a good twist at the end - not what you are expecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
A very good read from the Mistress (unfortunately no longer with us) of the crime genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
always the best read will always buy her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse