Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
59
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 January 2007
The Last Don is a very detailed account of a mafia family. It is very interesting with everything that happens in the book; crime, sex, scandal, love, death, kidnapping, gambling.

This is not Puzo at his finest but the book is definitely interesting if you like mafia stories.

The young Don has to make many decisions while trying to capture the heart of a beautiful movie star.

Comparisons to Godfather are inevitable but even though its a notch below, it's worth the read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2008
I went into this book not being sure if it could live up to the standard of The Godfather. I needn't have worried. Mario Puzo is a true master when it comes to The Mafia and he has once again worked his magic here.

I thought the book started a bit slowly but gradually it builds until it comes to a final crashing crescendo. Throughout the book you get background on all of the main characters and you begin to develop an attachment to some and an aversion to others. By the time you finish the book, you will find yourself rooting for certain characters.

The Last Don is different to The Godfather in that the family are not trying to take over everything but are trying to legitimise themselves. In my opinion this makes the book better than The Godfather as you get to see all the behind the scenes manoevuring and deals that are being done.

All in all, if you like The Godfather then this is a must read and is a better book overall!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2002
Once again Puzo demonstrates his genius for epic, even mythic storytelling, and for making the reader love unpleasant characters. When the riddles are unravelled and the backstory explained, just as the conclusion draws inexorably closer, you will see that you are in the realm of Greek tragedy; and even the monster Don Domenico will have your sympathy at the end. A masterpiece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I really enjoyed most of this book. I thought it was well written and and engrossing narrative.

It lost one star because quite simply it's not as good as The Godfather (a superb book) or The Sicilian (even better).

It lost another star because I can't agree with the portrayal of the child with autism in the book. The terms and definitions used are completely at odds with what is known and how we should talk about autism nowadays. The model Puzo disappointingly uses is based on a model from the 1960s which is completely at odds with what we know nowadays, and for me severely affects the validity of an otherwise fine narrative.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
enjoyed the book if you are a mafia fan then i would give this book a go.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2007
Having read most of Puzo's other works and being an avid fan of the mafia genre, I found this book to be rather disappointing, but entertaining non-the-less.

My grievances are as follows:

The main story is very linear and overshadowed by pointless sub-plots.

The characters are shallow, especially the entire Clericuzo family.

Puzo's writing style is rather weak due to his inadequate descriptions and superfluous use of certain words (such as vivacious, amiable). Also, his style lacks the poignancy of his previous work.

Don't get me wrong, it's an interesting and entertaining book, but falls way short of greatness due to the above issues.

I won't recommend you buying this book, but rather you lend it from a library or friend before deciding to buy it. If you're looking for a good mafia novel, try the classic Godfather or his best work, The Sicilian.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I read The Godfather many years ago and seen the film umpteen times (my favourite film of all time) and while The Last Don is readable, I felt none on the page turning anticipation of Omerta (another great read from Mario Puzo) or The Godfather - I may yet read both of these stories again - only of course on Kindle, I still have both in book form in the attic - somewhere! However, I won't be reading (again) The Last Don.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2001
The author wisely sticks to the tried and trusted literary style of The Godfather and The Sicilian albeit in a more modern setting and consequently the gambling underworld is more prominent than ever. Puzo cleverly pulls off a number of unexpected twists characteristic of his earlier novels, and the reader gets plenty of pages of gripping suspense for their money. A treat.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Fantastic account of how the world of movies really used to work and what is really behind the patinated world of top class actors (producers, writers, make up artists, ecc....) The mafia seems to be living within Hollywood's theathres rather than in a Nevada mansion!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2015
Nowhere near as good as The Godfather, I rather got the impression that Mr Puzo was trying to cash in on The Godfather, this book was Ok but I fond it rather boring in parts. Not my favourite!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Need customer service? Click here