Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
822
3.8 out of 5 stars
Hannibal Rising: (Hannibal Lecter)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 April 2017
Thomas Harris is one of those rare authors who has strong insight about the human condition and the capacity of violence. His use of dialogue and character motivations are first rate. Red Dragon in particular is very intelligent about the exhaustive and despairing detective work in hunting serial killers and the chapters midway through the book goes into the childhood traumas of the serial killer which is both heartbreaking and powerfully insightful about the pathology of a serial murderer. Silence of the Lambs on the surface has a faithful movie adaptation, but many little differences that makes both book and film great in their own ways. In the novel, the serial killer character is greatly expanded, more detail communicating Hannibal's intelligence and the sinister side of society. Though there are little details I personally don't like such as the novel's more gentle version of Clarice's description of her trauma, it's still a great novel overall.
If you only want a few FICTION books to read in your lifetime, have Thomas Harris' books on your shelf.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2016
This is one of those stories which you don't ever forget. The minute you invest in the story line and characters, you find yourself drawn into this scary and intelligent world. It lives up to the hype, and went above and beyond my expectations. I haven't seen the film because I am worried it will destroy my memories of the book, but I have heard that the film is an excellent representation. I enjoyed this so much that I immediately purchased the entire 'series'. It is dark and scary, yet we still find ourselves trying to understand Lecter and his 'ways'. A truly great writer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2015
Excellent book, especially for anyone who is watching the Hannibal tv series. It really helps you understand the characters as they are portrayed in the series and gives a depth to Hannibal and Will especially which is completely engrossing. Having only ever seen the Anthony Hopkins version of Silence of the Lambs, I was surprised to discover so many new things... which I will not spoil for new readers. Definitely a good buy for fans of Hannibal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2017
Easily the best book among all four and the most gripping of all, defiantly highly recommended for any Hannibal fans, Wont disappoint.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
The character of Hannibal Lecter has now become a legendary creation. Here we get the first glimpse of him, although he is not the main focus of the story.

The book was later adapted into Silence Of The Lambs. Although the plots are slightly different, some of the mechanisms within the plot are reminiscent and if you didn't know about the connection between the two you might think the author was just recycling ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2016
Love this book, and decided to buy it after seeing the film. The book is well written and provides a better understanding of character, compared to that of the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
A fully realised work of imagination with well rounded characters, a colourful plot that keeps you galloping and a detached writing style that provokes absorption rather than repulsion. After 10 reads over 25 years, it's still the only book I've read more than once, Pride and Prejudice excepted. It's the novel against which all crime thrillers can be measured.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2016
What compliments can I give this book that haven't been said thousands of times all ready? Definitely one of the best books ever written. Sometimes I'll just pick it up and read over some of my favourite chapters again and it still gives me chills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
I've been aiming to read this book for ages but never quite got round to it.
Harris is a master of the dysfunctional mind. His attention to detail in describing nuances of character is phenomenal. A tad (quite understandably) prone to acceptance of 'current' psychiatric theory but that almost adds to the charm of the writing.

The results of the traumatic-stress, which serve to help form the antagonist Hannibal Lecter are also present in The Eighth Circle of Hell
Quite brilliantly set-up for a sequel too, (which I have read.)
It, like the sequel, is a true classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2011
I had seen the trailers for the movie and thought oh no! and had always just ignored the book thinking it would be the same but my genre is murder/police/detective/serial killer type so i thought i give it a go, oh i am glad it did, its was really great much better than i had imagined and i have bought the follow up book to read as well, everyone knows the story and the other reviews tell more than enough so i will just say its great !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse