Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 8 February 2012
What's not to like about Sherlock Holmes? Yes his manner is brusque and as Watson himself remarks not without egotism, but he solves mysteries before he even sees where they took place and is willing to overlook the letter of the law if matters can be set to rights in a gentler manner.

With every mystery, you try yourself to deduce the answer, and you might even come close, but quite often you're as baffled as Watson at how Holmes connects the dots. Of course it always helps, in crime fiction, that the writer already knows the answer before he starts writing the story of getting there.

The twist with Conan Doyle's stories is that you are guided quite strongly in one direction, feeling quite smug that you also know better than the bumbling police officers who only care about making an arrest, and your instincts may be right, but the exact solution is never quite what you first thought.

Some are a little more clear-cut than others but written in such a way that you fall into the pattern of the collection and quite happily go along with it.

It's little wonder that Sherlock Holmes is as popular a sleuth today as ever, and is still the inspiration of Hollywood and the small screen alike. There are few current characters that have quite the whimsical charm of Holmes; the eccentric genius with a great depth of character that we never quite see but know is there. After all, when you eliminate the impossible, what remains, however improbable, must be the truth.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 June 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
Having received the later compilations, this was seized upon eagerly.

This is the work that made Sherlock Holmes recognisable with many accounts agreeing that "A Study in Scarlet" and The Sign of the Four" receiving a lukewarm reception. (On the Great Alkali plain, Flower of Utah and onwards remains the most baffling additions to the canon)

Sir Jacobi does not disappoint. The variability of Holmes' voice is forgivable here, as he is starting to come to his peak. To my ears there is an effort to constrain Watson's narrative to more sombre limits.

On the whole the stories in this compilation themselves are more fantastical than later books, lending an air of "just starting out" They have great energy but the most loved: Scandal in Bohemia, so happens to be the best crafted without resorting to no holds-barred action. There is a response to that from Jacobi: the poignant wistfulness is palpable as he ends the chapter with "the woman.."

As for the other stories, Sir Jacobi can't help altering pitch to convey the action. This is no bad thing. Its just there is lots of action in this book which doesn't lend a hand to conforming the voices to the controlled screen portrayals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2018
I already have the complete Sherlock Holmes long stories in book form which I have had for many years and have read several times and I don`t normally read books more than once.
As this Kindle edition was only 49p I bought it as it also includes the short stories of which I have read the first although not for the first time.
I will give this book 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2014
The book is fine as far as the stories go but the Strand illustrations are reduced to small squares and poorly reproduced at that. I own a large hardback facsimile edtion of the Strand stories by the same publishers and it is first rate, with stunning reproductions . This is terrible to be honest, if you want the lovely illustrations I suggest you look elsewhere. The Kindle editions of 'The Hound of the Baskervilles', 'The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes' and the 'Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes' by Top Five Books publishers are the best out there out of all the Kindle editions, with great reproductions of the illustrations. Just trying to help you .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2015
A great and complete collection of Sherlock Holmes stories, but the Kindle edition lacks any indexing or hyperlinks on the contents, making it impossible to navigate to any particular story without paging through from the front, which with such a long collection is practically impossible. Recommended instead is "Sherlock Holmes: The Ultimate Collection", same price and well organized with hyperlinks on contents etc.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 February 2012
The first instalment of short fiction following the intrigueing vocation of one of literature's foremost sleuths and heros, Sherlock Holmes. Conan-Doyle's decision to view these baffling who/what/how-dunnits through the eyes of the 'ordinary' character (albeit veering to the side of extraordinary in places) of Dr John Watson, Afghan veteran, is a common literary conceit that works perfectly for the genre and content here. As with most far-fetched creations, disbelief has to be suspended within the reader and Watson is the tool with which to do so. It also aids in the mystique of the character of Holmes and raises his genius almost to the level of superhuman. And that's a hook needed if you want people to read your work.

To the stories themselves. They fit the medium of short stories like a glove. The Holmes' novels were all very good indeed but there's nothing like an intrigueing premise wrapped up in 30 or so pages, as opposed to having to wait until the end of a 200 or so page novel. That said, some do not work precisely because of this. The explanations can seem a little rushed at times and almost conveniently brought to a close within a page or 2. This is certainly true of 'A Case of Identity', one of the weaker of the bunch. But on the whole they are all extremely well written, capture the magic of Holmes' inimitable deductive reasoning and are just really fun reads.

Favourites of mine are: 'The Red Headed League', 'The Man with the Twisted Lip', 'The Speckled Band' and the oddest case, 'The Copper Beeches'. But you can see kernels of The Hound of the Baskervilles in 'The Boscombe Valley Mystery' which is fun.

Well deserved of its classic status. Now, onto The Memoirs... and further to the Reichenbach Falls...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2012
I received the book this morning and I am delighted with it! When I opened the parcel my wife exclaimed 'What a beautiful book'...and it is too! A hard backed book, it has a lovely red (linenised?) cover with the page edges being red too.The inside of the book has beautiful original illustrations taken from the Strand newspaper where the Holmes stories were first serialised.
I shall not go into the storylines as I am sure that most people will be aware of the timeless Sherlock Holmes stories (I read them all as a schoolboy..and loved them)
Due to the two latest excellent Holmes films and the brilliant TV series my schoolboy interest was reawakened and I decided to order this book containing the full series of books and short stories.
I suspect that the only problem I shall have with this book is the sheer size of it...it is Mahoosive! at 1408 pages it ranks as one of the longest books in my collection...brilliant!
At the huge cost of £7.19 with free P&P I could not afford to be without this lovely book which I shall treasure.
To sum up...A beautiful luxury book,featuring some of the most memorable Characters and stories ever written all at a knockdown price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 July 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
This is a review of the BBC Audio Collection, as read by Derek Jacobi.

Few will be the people who come to this collection of stories "new" but even given the ubiquitous nature of these famous stories this is an excellent audio book collection, spanning 10 cd's and giving us more than 11 hours of entertainment.

Derek Jacobi is every bit as good as you'd expect him to be (he is one "great actor" who truly deserves the standing he's given) and the stories in this collection contain some of the best Holmes stories.

It might not be an essential collection given, as said before, just how many different versions that are out there but if you haven't got any Holmes audio books and want to start somewhere, Jacobi's readings are amongst the very best.

The only slight problem I had with the set is how the stories are spread over the CD's. To fit everything onto 10 cd's and in order, virtually every story is spread over two CD's, with the end of one story being followed by part 1 of the next one. It's only a minor problem, admittedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 January 2014
Another 12 cases / short stories from Sherlock Holmes.

A few kept my attention, some washed over me and I couldn't quite follow along. Well written, occasional format error where a paragraph was split, but nothing that would detract from the reading. You don't need to have read the other Holmes books to follow along.

This book was free on the Kindle, and indeed it is advertised as free in the book: "This book is for the use of anyone anywhere and at no cost and with almost no restrictions whatsoever. You may copy it, give it away or re-use it" So I am not sure why Amazon have decided to start charging for it. Currently 77p.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2012
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
This is my fourth Sherlock Holmes collection reviewed (The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (BBC Audiobooks) The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes The Return of Sherlock Holmes (BBC Audio)) and so it is getting difficult to actually give a review now on anything aside from the individual stories.
10 CDs which are still on a spindle (so annoying for some) stories spread over multiple discs (so annoying for me and my iTunes) but again expertly read by Sir Derek Jacobi
I always found the story of the red headed league silly, and even read by Sir Derek this view of mine can't be changed, but that's a personal preference and not a reason to deduct a star. 5 orange pips and blue carbuncle are however two of my favourites.

However, the standalone story here is of course, a Scandal in Bohemia. The wonderful Miss Adler! The one woman who Sherlock can never forget. This story is worth the cd bundle alone, in fact you can easily see it as buying this story and getting all the others for free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse