Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
262
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2017
Enigma is the second of Robert Harris' books that I have read, after the excellent "An Officer and a Spy".An Officer and a Spy

Without wishing to give away any of the plot details, the book is based around the code-breaking exploits at Bletchley Park, and is dripping with historic and accurate details of the era (a real treat if you're into cryptography) and interweaves true facts with a fast paced thrilling fictional tale.

I would highly recommend this for an exciting read with the chance to learn more about the amazing feats of Bletchley.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
The plot is convoluted - perhaps too convoluted. But for me the chief value of this novel was the recreation of the amazing Bletchley enterprise and its locus within a brilliant evocation of Britain at war.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
I really enjoyed this book which gave an insight to what went on at Bletchley Park during the war, and the plot that was woven around the work that the code breakers actually did. I also saw the film, which although didn't follow the book exactly, was equally exciting. I think I will get more books from this author.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
Very clever-- enigmxa within an enigma, with all the termini
Ogy of cryptanalysis. I loved the book. All who play chess, do crossword puzzles will love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
As usual a great read. Thoroughly enjoyed it- can't get enough of Robert Harris's books. Wish he could write more quickly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2017
I don't think Robert Harris puts a foot wrong in his storytelling, weaving truth with fiction. I'm late to his books but have devoured them all recently...definitely a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
A true spy novel with an unexpected twist brilliantly constructed with good caricaturization and in depth knowledge of a complex sudject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
A good credible story well told. Some of the constructs require reading twice but the images and characters are believable. I enjoyed the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
England, 1943. The German Enigma code has been cracked and the Allied forces are close to winning the crucial Battle of the Atlantic. Suddenly, the code is changed and it is obvious that there is a traitor in the midst. Code-cracker Tom Jericho then finds that his girlfriend Claire has gone missing, leaving incriminating evidence in her room and a full-scale search begins to find her. But Tom cannot believe that she was the betrayer and sets out to find his own answers. With support from Claire's curious roommate Hester, he uncovers a mystery that goes far deeper than the Enigma codes. He discovers a secret that both the Gestapo and the British government are strangely united in their efforts to keep, a secret that could be dangerous in the wrong hands and a secret that shames those fighting on both sides.
This book is an absolutely amazing historical detective story. Harris's debut, "Fatherland" was unputdownable and vastly intriguing but this book goes one better. In "Enigma" we are presented with the world as it was nearly 60 years ago, and an England tired by War. Symbolising this fatigue is our hero Jericho, a young man press-ganged into helping to crack the Enigma cose and almost killing himself in the process. After a short rehabilitation he arrives back at the Bletchley code-cracking centre to prove his worth and finding himself embroiled in a mystery in which the enigmatic woman he has fallen for is strangely implicated. Harris creates a flawed hero and an unconventional heroine in the shape of Hester Wallace, who together discover that the disappearance of Claire and the discovery by the Germans that their code has been cracked are linked to a shameful secret hidden in the forests of Eastern Europe. Readers may be shocked to discover that what is uncovered is a true story but the arguments for the British cover-up are strong if not excusable. Whatever your feelings, this book is a page-turner. Harris is a master storyteller and his characters are utterly believable and compelling, the world he creates is almost Dickensian in its vividness and the final few pages will pick you up and sweep you along with their shocking twists and turns and their tragic elements. This book is not without its humour but the overall tone is rather bleak, perfect for the era in which it is set and for the subject matter it deals with. When finished you will want to pick it up and read it all over again because the World it presents is so cold, cruel and distant, yet so staggeringly real.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.29
£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here