Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
447
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2015
This is a great book. Ok, it might not be the most honest biography - it's hard to read the letters to Lenny stating how much Dawn loves him while knowing they divorced a few short years after this was published - but it's very well written. Dawn lays her heart bare in letters to her late father, close friends and beloved family in her usual humorous way. If you're a fan then it's a great read. Even if you're not a fan it's still quite entertaining. Also, because it's broken down into short chapters/letters it's easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
couldn't get in to this book so only read a few chapters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2016
Must have for all French & Saunders admirers. Brilliantly read by Liza Tarbuck.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
A must read.open and honest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Brilliant read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
A good and good humoured. It was refreshing to read an autobiography in letter form. I enjoyed reading the letters to Madonna
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
A delightful read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Very funny read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 October 2008
Dawn French doesn't need any introduction - she is a well known comedy actress, loved by many, and is most well known for being half of French and Saunders, and as the wonderful Vicar of Dibley.

What surprised me about this autobiography is the fact that the focus isn't really on her career, and her fame. It's certainly a large part of the book, outlining her early days in the Comic Strip, the films she took part in, as well as her recent roles.

However, the fascinating aspect of this book is the way that Dawn shares her life growing up, the relationships she's had, her heartaches and her joys. She fiercely loves her family, her friends, and her colleagues, and that shines through. (However, she most certainly does not like Madonna! ;))

The book is written as a series of letters, to various people.. a large proportion of these are written to her father, and it's easy to understand why, as he had such an affect on her. One particular letter had me in tears, and I was so glad to see Dawn reaching a type of resolution by the end of the book.. which did make for a good place for it to finish.

Dawn's voice is obvious in the book, you can almost hear her speaking it in your mind.. in her own unique style. There are serious moments in the book, but the humour that you expect is always there. Who else would write a letter to her niece, talking about her life ahead of her.. including what it may be like to have a big bosom?!

For anyone who has enjoyed watching Dawn French over the years, I would highly recommend this autobiography, not only as a peek into her life, but also as a better understanding of the sort of person she is.
0Comment| 213 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I started reading this but was easily distracted. which is not a very good sign. I just couldn't get into it. Maybe it was the format but it just didn't work for me. I got a third of the way through and decided to watch paint dry instead. i will give it another try as I really admire Dawn- I was maybe in the wrong frame of mind
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)