Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2011
The writer of this book has big respect for Grace Kelly. And that is no wonder - as this book shows - Grace did not only have a big talent and beautiful appearance, but she was a most considerate, kind and polite person. The author knew Kelly personally. She confided in him, as also did for example Hitchcock. In other words had Donald Spoto access to Grace's intimate sphere. It is obvious that Spoto has done very thorough work while writing this book. Well composed - starting with describing the family Grace was born in, continuing by showing how young woman Grace became a theatre student and how much she loved the theatre (not so much the movie-world). The final part shows Grace as a princess - in one of her last movies "The Swan", and in real life - by becoming the wife of Prince Rainier of Monaco. In this book you can indulge in the movie world of the Golden Era, intricate details about Hitchcock and other talented people. If you have a soft spot for romance, this book is for you - Grace fell in love all the time and the book gives some insight into several of her romances. The book also contains an analysis of Grace's major theatre plays and movies. I might have wanted to see even more photos of Grace and people important to her. But the photos that are in the book, are a wonderful collection, and it certainly is limited how many photos one can include in a pocket-book that is so packed with text. While reading the book I searched for photographs in the Internet for illustrate Spotos text for myself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
I have written many reviews on Grace Kelly books and films and to my mind she did not get the best out of her life, reading this book and other publications you can fill in on the details of her sad life and the influence of her controlling father, she once said in relation to her marriage :I suppose I can learn to love him : to my mind not a good enough reason to marry anyone. There are many other books on the market that give more detail of her impossible children, and her driving with her poor eyesight although there have been many attempts to hide the facts, to me she was a beautiful person and a film icon, the best film to see the real Grace in is with Carry Grant in TO Catch A Thief, in Blu-Ray on a large screen you see all her beauty and that blue gown is truly magnificent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Quite a detailed biography of the lovely Grace. However, Spoto lacks a sense of humour and glossses over Grace's friendship with Hitchcock as he so obviously despises the man & it is beyond his comprehension how any woman could have found him funny, or could ever have been genuinely fond of him. He also contradicts himself; arguing in one part that Grace did not have a relationship with Ray Milland, then later in the book blithely saying she did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2016
A sanitized version of Grace's life I feel. The author concentrated on her undisputed kindness and sense of fun too much and glossed over her 'romantic' relationships, of which there were supposed to be many. It leaves the reader with the impression that she was a bit two dimensional which is a pity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
I have a lot of respect for Grace Kelly who was friends with the African-American dancer, Josephine Baker, when she was bankrupt in 1974. Grace enlisted the services of Jacqueline Onassis and together they financed Baker's triumphant return to Paris in April 1975. That is the way to support marginalised talent, but is that still happening today? Baker died in hospital on the 12th April 1975 at the age of 68, and Grace paid all the funeral expenses and brought the remains to Monaco for burial. That is friendship.

Grace gave a lot of herself to the camera for audiences, particularly in the Hitchcock films, but she also gave a lot of herself to her friends. She was shy and aloof to those she didn't know, but she gave her heart to those she knew well.

It's amazing that her heart was on the stage and that she only saw Hollywood as a temporary opportunity until she could fulfil her real ambition in the theatre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Grace Kelly was also one of the most beautiful women and loved reading about her life in early movies. Very good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
This biography debunks many rumours about the famous, iconic actress and Princess of Monaco; Grace Kelly.

We learn about her impressive, prolific career as an actress but also what she really seemed to be her dreams for her life which was love and family.

The author has created a real page-turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
As Im going to Monaco this summer I was interested to read up on the life of Grace Kelly. I looked at reviews of other books about her life on this website and settled on this book.I actually found it very disappointing as it focused more on the films she made rather than her as a person, even though it was written by someone who knew her well. Of 10 chapters 8 were about her life before she married. I found out nothing about her marriage, children and what she got up to once she became a princess.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Interesting paperback on the American actress, style icon, and princess of Monaco Grace Kelly. It's a must for biography readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
Looking forward to reading this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse