Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2010
I re read the Falco books every year or so and so have had to replace worn out paper backs. Lively happy books with lots of accurate Roman detail & happy family basis, characters who grow with the series, this story has lots of interest concerning Rome itself. A comfortable way to learn Roman History
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
I am such a big fan of Lindsey Davis Falco novels, and this the ninth in the series is no exception. three hands in the fountain has a slightly darker but still humorous edge than previous novels in the series. Falco makes a grizzly discovery of a severed hand in fountain and so begins an investigation into a serial killer.
I really can't recommend the Falco series enough Lindsey Davis has the wonderful ability to bring the ancient roman world Falco inhabits so vividly to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 1998
Falco, back from his Imperial mission to Spain (A Dying Light in Corduba) teams up with his old mucker, Petro, who has been suspended from the Vigiles having taken a fancy for the daughter of a notorious criminal that he helped to put away (Time to Depart). Falco and Petro are soon engaged to investigate the discovery of human remains in the civic water supplies. The rush is on to catch a mass murderer. Does Falco save the day ? What do you think !
The book can be enjoyed in isolation,as can all of the books in the Falco series, but I recommned that one read the previous novels first. As with all of Lindsey Davis's novels the plot isn't as important to her as the development of the characters. I think this is what her devotees enjoy. One enjoys learning of Petro's marital problems, that Falco is now a father and that Anacrities is still a pain. The story doesn't end with Falco solving a mystery - it begins with Falco becoming a land owner and the love life's of his brother-in-laws in need of his worldly wise intervention. This is another enjoyable, untaxing read that leaves devotees chomping at the bit for Two for the Lions. Come on bring it out in paperback !
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
Falco is a spy, sometimes working for the Emperor Vespasian, but in this case he is trying to find the missing fiancee of his partner's brother. He leaves the beautiful Helena and baby Julia to embark on what proves to be a hazardous and complicated quest. Told with a wry sense of humour, this is another great tale with also many interesting details of everyday life in the city of Rome in the first century AD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Love this series, couldn't wait for the book to arrive, since it had I just read and read it whenever I can.
Was sent in 2-3 days, I liked the speed as always.
Very entertaining characters and story, yet nothing shallow in these books. I keep on recommending them to my friends, especially because I was also introduced to them by a friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
Really enjoyed this and love how despite it being the 9th in the series, the author manages to keep familiar elements while bringing in new ones. All the usual cast with a couple more characters and a pretty macabre and upsetting plot but dealt with with the usual balance of humour and pathos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Falco is back in his beloved Rome with Helena and a new baby girl, tactfully named after both grandmothers, Julia Junilla Laeitana. Falco is out enjoying himself with old friend from his army days, Petro, who is now a member of the Vigiles, when they comes across a gruesome discovery in the fountain they are standing by. A severed human hand. With the possibility of bits of Rome's population floating around the Roman water system it is time for our hero to get involved.

This time he has the help of Petro, who has been suspended from the vigiles for having a rather unfortunate liaison. But of course nothing is easy for Falco. What with more than my jobs worth water board officials, who seem to have a vested interest in keeping things quiet, Falco and Petro seem to be running up a dead end. That is until Julius Frontius an ex-consul who Vespasian has assigned to look into the matter becomes involved. He is certainly able to use his influence and the investigation begins to make progress.

When another girl goes missing Falco begins to realise who the serial killer is, but will he be able to catch them before they strike again . . .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
I liked the technical issues of the water supply especially if you have already read "Pompeii" by Robert Harris. The out of town plot was more interesting than some "Falcos" I thought it was one of the best ones in the series so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
Continuing the story of the irrepressible Falco and his superior friend Helena Justina, Lindsey continues to capture the essence of everyday life in first century Spain, with enormous wit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2013
This is "Falco".Lindsey Davis at her best. As I have said before Roma is my favorite city and this deelves into the deaap dark underworld of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse