Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 July 2015
Love this book, I can hardly put it down, it's fascinating. It's huge, it's going to take weeks to read! But it's well written, easy to read, full of anecdotes as well as facts. If you like food & history it's a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
An excellent history of English food. Full of information and well written. I first obtained it from my local library but wanted my own copy so as to be able to use it as a reference and dip back in from time to time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Excellent bed- time reading except for the desire to get up and make cheese on toast! Scholarly, amusing,informative, comforting and enlightening, perfect for anyone who loves food and is intrested in social history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Clarissa loves food and that comes over so well in this book, all the periods are covered with an incredible depth of knowledge but with a lightness that makes this a great read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
I gave this to a magnificent cook, who loves it. It is informative, interesting, well written and has loads of tips, facts, interesting articules etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is packed with interesting tit-bits and was hard to put down. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in food
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
She has a clarity of thought that has not been corrupted with P.C. nonsense. It is a pleasure to read something that has not been totally sanitised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
This lady loved her history as well as her food. A resonably easy read that has me saying Oh I didn't know that regularly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
She knows whereof she speaks, and she speaks with such eloquence. A magnificent read. A wonderful work to leave behind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
Love this book, very informative for historians as well as foodies,
As always, brilliant writing from clarisa,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)